Haroset Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Maybe it's just me, but I prefer a slightly higher apples-to-nuts ratio. I also recommend increasing the wine, and consider substituting honey, or better yet, date syrup (the original flowing "honey"), for the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookie734
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This is very similar to the recipe my mom used. I don't feel like the extra sugar is necessary (unless you're using a wine that's not that sweet). I used Manischewitz Blackberry, and it was sweet enough. I don't cut my apples too finely, and I like my walnuts chopped a little bit larger as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie734
Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This is sooo good. Even my neice who doesn't like nuts requests this each year. I make 12-14 servings. If there are any leftovers I serve them in puff pastry cups with a dot of whipped cream. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
yum yum; the best part of passover
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
I made Passover dinner for the first time. My husband is Jewish, and you guessed it..I'm not, so needless to say I needed all the help I could find. This was a BIG hit..my in-laws were totally impressed. As the other reviews recommended I did double the wine. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
The recipe lacked a very important ingredient: Dates! No Haroset can be fantastic without it, only meiocre. My take: double the wine and add finely chopped dates. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2001
Wow! This was great! I'd never made haroset before because my mother was always in charge of all the Passover cooking. I was really impressed by this recipe as it tasted just like my mother's and it was easy to make. I doubled the amount of wine to make it more moist and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salsera713

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallandale, Florida, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2000
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2000
Absolutely delicious! The only tweaking of this recipe that I did was to double the amount of wine. Easily the best I've ever had and a recipe that would make a delicious "relish" all year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States