Haroset for Passover Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I added some Craisins and chopped dates to the mix, used apple juice instead of wine and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Excellent recipe, definitely a keeper! I highly recommend peeling the apples and hand- chop them very very finely. It is a bit time-consuming, but totally worth it! Also added chopped and pitted dates- about 1/2 cup. Haroset needs the date flavor in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Caracas, Distrito Federal, Venezuela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I made this for seder but after peeling and coring my apples I rinse them in a bowl of lemon water . Then I used my food processor to save time. Loved it! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Good, basic recipe. I use all honey rather than adding white sugar. Most of the ingredients you can add to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I used pecans instead of walnuts. Huge hit!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Excellent. Try multiple types of apples for subtly interesting flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Thank you, Jill! The first time I made this, we were celebrating Passover on a camping trip and I did not peel the apples. It was perfectly delicious with the apple skins. The second time I made this was for a family Seder. I peeled the apples, but to save time I used a Cuisinart to chop both the apples (one at a time to avoid applesauce) and walnuts. My only regret was the appearance of the charoset. It would have looked much nicer if I had hand chopped the apples. Nevertheless, the hostess of this Seder asked me to bring this charoset next year because she wants to make it a tradition. I heard several people comment on the charoset and go back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
delicious! my sister-in-law usually makes haroset but she was out-of-town so i had to do it. i was hoping it would be as good as her's. i found it was better! i won't tell her though! i did add more wine and honey, it did need a pinch or two of salt. i also added fresh ground nutmeg and used half walnuts and half pecans. it was wonderful and gave it a nice nutty flavor. glad i found this recipe it was perfect. i even used the leftovers to put in my oatmeal it taste rich and wonderful! i did use a food processor to shred the apples
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This was a really good traditional recipe - ours was the best I've had. Here are the changes we made: 1) used 4-5 small Fuji apples, unpeeled but cored - chopped further by food processor; 2) combined walnuts with chopped almonds and pecans for the 1 c. of nuts shown; 3) used port as the sweet red wine; 4) added some date sugar because we had some on hand - added some depth; 5) made it 48 hrs in advance and refrigerated until the passover dinner -- yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Huge hit - made last year for Passover; best haroset ever had. Making again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States