Haroset for Passover Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I made this for our Seder, and it was absolutely excellent. I made a few very slight changes, but nothing drastic. Instead of peeling and chopping I grated the unpeeled apples using my food processor, which saved immensely on the prep time, and I left the peels on, since that's where most of the apple's nutrients are (buy organic if you're going to leave the peels on, though). Also, I added a bit more honey (about 2 TBS total) to help bind everything together. To get three cups of grated apples I needed 5 smallish gala apples. I got several compliments on this, and two separate people told me it was the best haroset they'd ever had. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
Good recipe for haroset. Once you have the basic ingredients down you can play to your own tastes. I always like a few more nuts in mine. Also, note in the intro to this recipe that the amount of the finished product is 3 cups. 6 apples of the size I used was way to many for the 3-cup total -- even 4 apples were too many. I'd say 3-4 medium fuji or gala would work fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSYBEE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
This is a basic, very good haroset recipe. I split the batch in half and used apple/grape juice instead of wine with half and it was perfect for the kids. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This was a really good traditional recipe - ours was the best I've had. Here are the changes we made: 1) used 4-5 small Fuji apples, unpeeled but cored - chopped further by food processor; 2) combined walnuts with chopped almonds and pecans for the 1 c. of nuts shown; 3) used port as the sweet red wine; 4) added some date sugar because we had some on hand - added some depth; 5) made it 48 hrs in advance and refrigerated until the passover dinner -- yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
We are non-alcoholic so I substituted apple-grape juice for the wine. Excellent fruit salad. Easy to make for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
This recipe was well-received at our Passover. I used regular wine (instead of sweet) and just 4 Gala apples, and it turned out great. If you are looking for a cement-like haroset this is not it, but I find this consistency more palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alfia
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
This was a delicious haroset. I used Gala apples as suggested, and substituted almonds and pecans for the walnuts. It does seem that the recipe calls for an awful lot of apples. I added extra nuts and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alfia
Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Thank you, Jill! The first time I made this, we were celebrating Passover on a camping trip and I did not peel the apples. It was perfectly delicious with the apple skins. The second time I made this was for a family Seder. I peeled the apples, but to save time I used a Cuisinart to chop both the apples (one at a time to avoid applesauce) and walnuts. My only regret was the appearance of the charoset. It would have looked much nicer if I had hand chopped the apples. Nevertheless, the hostess of this Seder asked me to bring this charoset next year because she wants to make it a tradition. I heard several people comment on the charoset and go back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Good, basic recipe. I use all honey rather than adding white sugar. Most of the ingredients you can add to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Great Recipe!!! I do not like Walnuts, so I used pecans. It worked out very well. I nuttier flavor. I also used Gala Apples, because I just read those are a great source of antioxidents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mindala

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Culver City, California, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States