Haroset for Passover Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Good, basic recipe. I use all honey rather than adding white sugar. Most of the ingredients you can add to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I used pecans instead of walnuts. Huge hit!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Excellent. Try multiple types of apples for subtly interesting flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Thank you, Jill! The first time I made this, we were celebrating Passover on a camping trip and I did not peel the apples. It was perfectly delicious with the apple skins. The second time I made this was for a family Seder. I peeled the apples, but to save time I used a Cuisinart to chop both the apples (one at a time to avoid applesauce) and walnuts. My only regret was the appearance of the charoset. It would have looked much nicer if I had hand chopped the apples. Nevertheless, the hostess of this Seder asked me to bring this charoset next year because she wants to make it a tradition. I heard several people comment on the charoset and go back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
delicious! my sister-in-law usually makes haroset but she was out-of-town so i had to do it. i was hoping it would be as good as her's. i found it was better! i won't tell her though! i did add more wine and honey, it did need a pinch or two of salt. i also added fresh ground nutmeg and used half walnuts and half pecans. it was wonderful and gave it a nice nutty flavor. glad i found this recipe it was perfect. i even used the leftovers to put in my oatmeal it taste rich and wonderful! i did use a food processor to shred the apples
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This was a really good traditional recipe - ours was the best I've had. Here are the changes we made: 1) used 4-5 small Fuji apples, unpeeled but cored - chopped further by food processor; 2) combined walnuts with chopped almonds and pecans for the 1 c. of nuts shown; 3) used port as the sweet red wine; 4) added some date sugar because we had some on hand - added some depth; 5) made it 48 hrs in advance and refrigerated until the passover dinner -- yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Huge hit - made last year for Passover; best haroset ever had. Making again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Big hit everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YAELIE24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I made this for our Seder, and it was absolutely excellent. I made a few very slight changes, but nothing drastic. Instead of peeling and chopping I grated the unpeeled apples using my food processor, which saved immensely on the prep time, and I left the peels on, since that's where most of the apple's nutrients are (buy organic if you're going to leave the peels on, though). Also, I added a bit more honey (about 2 TBS total) to help bind everything together. To get three cups of grated apples I needed 5 smallish gala apples. I got several compliments on this, and two separate people told me it was the best haroset they'd ever had. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Its a good recipe but way too much for 6 people after a big passover meal! Next time I wouls make 1/3 this amount and use 2 apples instead of 5. I added raisins and dates to this for extra flavor but it made it very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maslow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States