Haroset for Passover Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I made this for our Seder, and it was absolutely excellent. I made a few very slight changes, but nothing drastic. Instead of peeling and chopping I grated the unpeeled apples using my food processor, which saved immensely on the prep time, and I left the peels on, since that's where most of the apple's nutrients are (buy organic if you're going to leave the peels on, though). Also, I added a bit more honey (about 2 TBS total) to help bind everything together. To get three cups of grated apples I needed 5 smallish gala apples. I got several compliments on this, and two separate people told me it was the best haroset they'd ever had. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
Good recipe for haroset. Once you have the basic ingredients down you can play to your own tastes. I always like a few more nuts in mine. Also, note in the intro to this recipe that the amount of the finished product is 3 cups. 6 apples of the size I used was way to many for the 3-cup total -- even 4 apples were too many. I'd say 3-4 medium fuji or gala would work fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSYBEE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
This is a basic, very good haroset recipe. I split the batch in half and used apple/grape juice instead of wine with half and it was perfect for the kids. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This was a really good traditional recipe - ours was the best I've had. Here are the changes we made: 1) used 4-5 small Fuji apples, unpeeled but cored - chopped further by food processor; 2) combined walnuts with chopped almonds and pecans for the 1 c. of nuts shown; 3) used port as the sweet red wine; 4) added some date sugar because we had some on hand - added some depth; 5) made it 48 hrs in advance and refrigerated until the passover dinner -- yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
We are non-alcoholic so I substituted apple-grape juice for the wine. Excellent fruit salad. Easy to make for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
This recipe was well-received at our Passover. I used regular wine (instead of sweet) and just 4 Gala apples, and it turned out great. If you are looking for a cement-like haroset this is not it, but I find this consistency more palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alfia
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
This was a delicious haroset. I used Gala apples as suggested, and substituted almonds and pecans for the walnuts. It does seem that the recipe calls for an awful lot of apples. I added extra nuts and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alfia
Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Thank you, Jill! The first time I made this, we were celebrating Passover on a camping trip and I did not peel the apples. It was perfectly delicious with the apple skins. The second time I made this was for a family Seder. I peeled the apples, but to save time I used a Cuisinart to chop both the apples (one at a time to avoid applesauce) and walnuts. My only regret was the appearance of the charoset. It would have looked much nicer if I had hand chopped the apples. Nevertheless, the hostess of this Seder asked me to bring this charoset next year because she wants to make it a tradition. I heard several people comment on the charoset and go back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Good, basic recipe. I use all honey rather than adding white sugar. Most of the ingredients you can add to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Great Recipe!!! I do not like Walnuts, so I used pecans. It worked out very well. I nuttier flavor. I also used Gala Apples, because I just read those are a great source of antioxidents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mindala

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Culver City, California, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States