Hariton's 'Famous' Vegetarian Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I made this last night and altered it slightly. I obviously put it to calculate a lower serving size and still ended up with 2 pans worth: 1 9x13, 1 8x8. I used 3 small red potatoes, b/c I do not eat them--only my husband & child do. 2 small eggplant (of 2 varieties) and I did salt & place in a colander (rather than water) and it worked just fine for me. I ended up using 2 8 oz. cans of no salt added tomato sauce, which was perfect, and dried herbs. I limited my salt b/c I knew I'd add feta after it cooked. 1 lrg. green pepper, 1 med. onion, 3 summer squash, 2/3 pint mr, 1/2 pound green beans, 6 garlic cloves, and the amt. of spices indicated for 6 servings. It cooked for about an hour and was perfect! My husband had seconds, as did I. My child doesn't like eggplant, so he ate around that. We served it over brown rice and it was delicious! I would definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Really good, best fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Made the 9 serving version of this recipe with a few alterations: One butternut squash for 2 summer squash, used the whole can of tomato sauce, added about 2 Tbsp. balsamic vinegar and dropped the cooking time down to 1 1/2 hour. Turned out VERY well. My roommate described it as "one of the best things he's ever eaten."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flip Wibbly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
This is very tasty and healthy dish. The reason for keeping eggplant in water is to avoid blackness which comes with oxidation. All the other veggies doesn't take time to cook, but eggplant does, so I cut one eggplant, put in a bowl, add half a cup of water and microvwave them for 4 minutes. Then I drained them, and mix everything and baked them for 1.5 hours. Switched off the oven and left it there for another hour or so, they came out perfact. Filled Pita pocket with veggies and Feta cheese, even kids ate them up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I am definitely going to make this recipe. My only problem is downsizing it to a meal for two or four people. Downsizing option does not adjust the cooking time. I may omit the eggplant to save prep time I was surprised by the negative comments since this is a very basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
Delicious and healthy, it was a hit at a dinner party I hosted recently. It goes great with the "Homesteader Cornbread."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
This recipe did not work for me. I cute the veges into 2" cubes and they looked awful BIG to me but I prepared the dish that way anyway. Well, the potatoes did not cook very well so we ate around them, and the other veges were too big, we had to cut them up. Flavor was bland but we had it with Tzatziki sauce, which helped. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
This was so delicious!! I will be making this one again!! I used sweet potatoes instead of regular, and used more tomato sauce and olive oil. I covered the pan with foil and cooked for about an hour and a half. Use the fresh herbs as the recipe indicates...it does make a difference! I served it up with some feta cheese and warm pita bread. Delicious! Definitely scaled this recipe down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
This was a really good recipe, although I had to turn the heat down because the outside of the vegetables were cooking before the inside (but I live in high altitude, 5300 ft). I suggest eating it with rice! After making it according to the recipe the first time, I added more tomato sauce the next time and I left out the squash and added more potatoes instead. This recipe is very adaptable; it's easy to make it how you like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
Very tasty but difficult to down-size for a family of 6. Labor intensive with cleaning and cutting vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States