Hariton's 'Famous' Vegetarian Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This reminds me of my favorite ratatouille recipe, only with even more flavors. It reheats well, and I love to reheat, put it on a kaiser roll with a slice of brie and broil just till the cheese begins to melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This is excellent. I used a quarter of the vegetables in recipe & it still filled half a turkey roasting pan. Salted & sweated eggplant for sev hours ahead, then rinsed. Used red bell peppers & red skinned potatoes. Omitted dill & used 1/4 cup each of fresh basil & oregano, increased olive oil to 1/2 cup & used about 10 oz of really good jarred tom sauce. Did not need extra water, but stirred once 1/2 way through. Done in about 2 hours. Added fresh parsley at end. Served up in bowls for dinner...family lapped it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This was delicious! I cut down recipe for two and it could have easily fed four! I substituted zucchini from my garden for the squash, added shredded carrots and instead of the can of tomato sauce I used a can of organic whole peeled tomatoes which I cut up before pouring on top prior to putting in the oven. I found the veggies gave off enough liquid so I did not add any water. During the last five minutes I topped it with smoked mozzarella & some parmesan/romano cheese until bubbly. I served it with a brown rice medley from Trader's Joes and garnished the plate with sliced avocado. It was a wonderful meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Somehow it never ocurs to me to make a veggie casserole. It's unnatural somehow - but do not be mistaken, this is a great recipe. I re-sized this for 2, and used Vidalia mushrooms, onions, zuchini, summer squash, and green beans - omitting the eggplant, potato, bell peppers, and tomatoes based on 'low carb' and personal preference. Easy, fast (It only took 35 minutes back time for 2 servings). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Great recipe. Can't beat it with all of the fresh stuff. I reduced it to one 9 x 12 pan and used asparagus instead of eggplant. Very adaptable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
We also added some mozzarella cheese on top at the end. The colors and flavors make this dish a beauty and the flavors are wonderful. Thanks for a fresh, healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This recipe is fabulous. I just made it tonight. I definitely cut this recipe down to 1 each of the vegetables used as I made this for myself alone. The roasted garlic really made a huge difference and this turned out to be fantastic. I just used the concept of this recipe - not measuring the herbs and such - I did soak the eggplant as suggested. I will say that when I added the water half-way through I added too much, but now I know for next time. I simply drained it at the end....I did add a tiny bit of Parmesan cheese to the top during the last half. I also found that the vegetables were more than cooked at 2 hours and I pulled them out. (Most likely because I had a much smaller portion.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I was hoping for something more from this but it was pretty bland. I scaled it down to 6 servings. It is certainly edible and healthy so it gets 3 stars. If I made it again, I would have to add more tomato sauce and up the seasoning and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This smelled wonderful while it was cooking. I scaled the recipe down to feed two people. I think it was a bit too watery, but it was still pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I'd just been to the farm picking vegetables this weekend, so I made this. The vegetables kind of steam and roast at the same time, so they get tender, but there are some nice, caramelized bits in there for more flavor. Today, I'm having leftovers on a pita with some homemade goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States