Hariton's 'Famous' Vegetarian Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This was quite good--a less tomato-ey ratatouille. The house smelled great while it cooked. That being said, we both thought the recipe needed "something", maybe some balsamic vinegar? The addition of chipotle Tabasco added a needed kick to some of the leftovers. Even modifying this for 8 servings, it's still a lot of food. I think the three stars is more because I'm getting bored eating it. I probably will remove the potatoes and freeze the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This is a very forgiving recipe and yes, our family cut it down to 5 servings which was enough for our 4 adult family to have 2x that week. it is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Allred
Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Left the skin on the eggplant. I didn't have summer squash. Changed the serving size to 9. PERFECT AMOUNT for a family of 4, and there are plenty of leftovers. No need to add water half way. I cooked on the middle rack for 1 hour on 400. Smelt good, and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I chose this recipe to use the abundance of veggies from my CSA box. Chopping all the veggies was labor intensive, but it came out tasty. I reduced the serving size to 12 instead of 36, but still ended up with two large pans full. Lots of leftovers. I also chopped veggies a bit smaller than instructed, and this shortened the cooking time by about 30-45 minutes. BF and I had it by itself, over fresh pasta with a little extra sauce, and as a topping on homemade pizza. Overall a good dish and versatile as well, but really nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
These were WONDERFUL! My entire family devoured them. Unfortunately, I only made 4 servings because I'm the only one who usually eats veggies. I'm making them again tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Ginther Brauns
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Really tasty. I only made a quarter of the recipe, and added more herbs than listed. I didn't have any green beans of mushrooms, but it was still good. I think next time I would bake the potatoes for a little while first or boil them for a few minutes, then add the rest of the veggies. I don't like mushy veggies, and the squash and eggplant cooked through much faster than the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I skipped the eggplant and didn't have pasta sauce around so on a whim I used a small can of pizza sauce (I significantly decreased the serving size) and it turned out wonderful! I also served it in tortillas as another reviewer had done. This will definitely be going into my regular summer rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georgia_gal31012

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dublin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Pleasantly surprised!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States