Hariton's 'Famous' Vegetarian Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This was quite good--a less tomato-ey ratatouille. The house smelled great while it cooked. That being said, we both thought the recipe needed "something", maybe some balsamic vinegar? The addition of chipotle Tabasco added a needed kick to some of the leftovers. Even modifying this for 8 servings, it's still a lot of food. I think the three stars is more because I'm getting bored eating it. I probably will remove the potatoes and freeze the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This is a very forgiving recipe and yes, our family cut it down to 5 servings which was enough for our 4 adult family to have 2x that week. it is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Left the skin on the eggplant. I didn't have summer squash. Changed the serving size to 9. PERFECT AMOUNT for a family of 4, and there are plenty of leftovers. No need to add water half way. I cooked on the middle rack for 1 hour on 400. Smelt good, and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I chose this recipe to use the abundance of veggies from my CSA box. Chopping all the veggies was labor intensive, but it came out tasty. I reduced the serving size to 12 instead of 36, but still ended up with two large pans full. Lots of leftovers. I also chopped veggies a bit smaller than instructed, and this shortened the cooking time by about 30-45 minutes. BF and I had it by itself, over fresh pasta with a little extra sauce, and as a topping on homemade pizza. Overall a good dish and versatile as well, but really nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
These were WONDERFUL! My entire family devoured them. Unfortunately, I only made 4 servings because I'm the only one who usually eats veggies. I'm making them again tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Ginther Brauns
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Really tasty. I only made a quarter of the recipe, and added more herbs than listed. I didn't have any green beans of mushrooms, but it was still good. I think next time I would bake the potatoes for a little while first or boil them for a few minutes, then add the rest of the veggies. I don't like mushy veggies, and the squash and eggplant cooked through much faster than the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I skipped the eggplant and didn't have pasta sauce around so on a whim I used a small can of pizza sauce (I significantly decreased the serving size) and it turned out wonderful! I also served it in tortillas as another reviewer had done. This will definitely be going into my regular summer rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georgia_gal31012

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dublin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Pleasantly surprised!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States