Hariton's 'Famous' Vegetarian Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
My family loves this recipe. I followed another review and put the eggplant in a bowl added 1/4 cup of water and microwaved for 4 minutes. I adjusted the veggies to fit our tastes. I add a 1/2 cup of lentils, that have been soaked for 5-10 min., and an entire bottle of marinara sauce (instead of 1/4 cup). We eat this dish with parathas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red10

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This is a very flexible recipe. I used zucchini, a red pepper, and a yellow pepper instead of the summer squash, grean beans and green pepper. I adjusted the seasonings since I didn't have any dill and also added few sundried tomatoes in oil that I wanted to use up. I probably used a little more olive oil than the recipe originally called for and more tomatoes but no tomato sauce. We had it on naan flatbread with feta cheese sprinkled on top. Very tasty! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Made a smaller batch for my family of 5 1/2. 8 B-sized red potatoes, 2 small eggplants, 1 large zucchini, 2 tomatoes, 1 small onion, 1 cup mushrooms, kept the garlic about the same...small can tomato sauce and 1/3 cup olive oil. Boiled potatoes in advance, then put them in the pan as layer one and sprinkled a bit of garlic salt on top. Mixed the oil, tomato sauce, and herbs together and tossed the other veggies with that before adding to the pan as layer two. Baked at 375 for 1 1/2 hours and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Hastings, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Delicious! I added fresh parmesan cheese to the top as one of the other reviewers suggested. It made a lot, but it was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
This was ok, but not fabulous. I scaled it back to 4 servings, which was still enough for 8, in my opinion, and cooked for only 1.5 hours, which was plenty. Served topped with a dollop of plain Greek yogurt on toasted whole wheat pitas for a healthy vegetarian meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
The veggies are great but as a side dish. Must reduce the serving size!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladiesia
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
LOVE this. So easy, super delicious. I made two modifications to utilize ingredients I had in my pantry. I used a jar of marinara sauce instead of tomato sauce, and I used half a jar of Trader Joe's Red Pepper spread with eggplant and garlic, because I only had a few fresh mini red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This was absolutely INCREDIBLE! My husband raved about it and didn't even miss having meat. It was very filling and very flavorful, yet it was so very simple and easy to make. Win win all the way around! Will definitely be adding this to the recipes we make over and over. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This recipe is absolutely delicious, and probably one of the best vegetable/vegan dishes on this site! I scaled it down to 5 and I have at least 8 servings. I added a bit more tomato sauce to the veggies. In my oven they were done at 1.5 hours, not 2.5. If you have the full batch it will take longer probably. Also the veggies cooked down to about a third of what they were initially in the pan. It's not summer so I had to swap summer squash for zucchini and leave out the tomatoes, but I definitely plan on making this again when veggies are really in season. Thank you so much for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This was delicious!!! Although we aren't vegan, I'm always looking for recipes that omit the meat and dairy without sacrificing flavor, and this definitely fits the bill. Note that this recipe serves 36!!! I made a quarter of the recipe, and barely fit into my huge roasting pan (needless to say, the pan measurements in the recipe don't appear to be correct). I followed the recipe except for replacing tomato sauce with 3 cans of fire roasted tomatoes. Since I like a little kick, I also added a few teaspoons of cayenne pepper. Yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States