Harissa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This was great! I'm sure doing it "as is" is even better but I had to omit the mint because I didn't have any. Also, I used some chili powder and cayenne powder because I didn't have chilis either. As the sauce was sitting on my counter waiting to be used, the smell was immaculate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sriyani

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
This is a great recipe. I'm not exactly sure what "6 oz" of thai peppers is, volume, weight, what. I used about 25-30 peppers and it didn't weigh anywhere near 6 oz. I'd probably be on fire had i used that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
WOW! I made this to put over wild salmon, roasted potatoes and wilted spinach but my teenagers ate it all with pita chips before dinner was ready. I will double the recipe next time. I used jalapenos. As a professional chef I knew that the Bird's Eye peppers (AKA: Thai Peppers) would be too hot for my family. If you have a Caputo's Store near you they often carry Thai Peppers. I did add 1 tablespoon of fresh lemon juice. To those who found it too salty, it depends on what kind of salt you are using. Table salt, kosher salt & sea salts have different levels of flavor so start with half of what the recipe calls for and go from there. Keep in mind that depending on what kind of peppers you use the sauce will be green, yellow or red. Thanks you for a wonderful recipe. We will showcase this recipe at our restaurant in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tower Lakes, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I followed this recipe to a tee and unfortunately found it inedible. 1 tbsp was WAAAAY too much salt! We literally couldn't taste anything but salt, which totally ruined this for me. I tried to mellow out the sodium by dumping half of the batch and adding more of every other ingredient, but the flavors still weren't balanced; it just tasted like a spicy, very salty pesto. I made a last-ditch effort at using the harissa by mixing some with coconut milk and adding it to a simple garlic reduction I was making for chicken. It was passable but no better than that. I was really looking forward to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
This Harissa recipe is INCREDIBLE!!! I was trying a new recipe that called for Harissa, but couldn't find it anywhere. So, I turned to allrecipes.com and tried this. This turned out so good I now keep a jar of it in the fridge for hamburgers, eggs, meatloaf- just about anything! I like spicy food, but not too spicy. Somehow this manages to have the perfect balance of spiciness and flavor. You can't go wrong. It is spicy, flavorful, and salty all at once and is the best sauce I have ever had. My husband even loves the spiciness of this and he isn't happy unless he is sweating and crying when he eats spicy food. It was somehow perfect for both of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I made this and I'm afraid to say it was too spicy for my tastes. So after I tasted it, I decided to add the juice of one lemon and a bit of honey to tone down the hotness. Then I added about two tablespoons to a chopped mango and halved cherry tomatoes to make a salsa with grilled chicken. That was just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lelena109
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I've never eaten Harissa before but need it for a number of recipes in a new cookbook I received for Christmas. I couldn't find the product ANYwhere, so I made it myself. It's pretty good! I don't know my way around hot peppers, but all I could find were Scotch Bonnet Peppers (my fingers still burn a little from chopping them up)! I also made the mistake of adding the full 1/2 cup of olive oil to the mix ... so the texture is obviously more fluid than a paste. In any case, I've made the first recipe that uses it and it tastes fantastic as the main source of flavour (with garlic). Oh, it also did not turn out red. More of a green ... perhaps because the ratio was off when I added all the olive oil?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lelena109
Home Town: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Excellent. I did make some changes since I didn't have any Mint on hand. I added toasted ground Caraway and Fennel seeds to the recipe. I used New Mexico Chiles that are somewhat mild and a small handfull of Arbol Chiles to turn up the heat and omitted the Cilantro. I upped the Cumin and Coriander since I love very spicy. Great on anything, especially grilled foods! THX!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by winechef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Boyce, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Love this! You can use a variety of peppers, and I like the mint in it. So much better than what you find in the stores!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cazuela
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Tried this a few months back, before I became a member. So good it needs a review. Harissa with mint? Never knowing this version of Harissa (one of my favourite accompaniments), I went to the local, bought the bits I needed, and went to work. Wow. The mint introduces the cumin and garlic so well, it is as though the Harissa has a Master of Ceremonies. If you have never tried making it this way, I impress upon you: your dinner guests will love you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Harissa

See how to make Chef John’s all-time favorite hot sauce.

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

See how to make a spicy, sweet-and-sour sauce for Korean fried chicken.

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States