Harira Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
As with most red meat soups this one is best left to age for a day. The fat solids will rise and skim off easily when cold. I forgot the noodle and egg at the last minute but the soup was not lacking. The cinnamon was a nice change for a soup recipe. I also used dry garbanzo beans instead of a can, this allowed me to put them in with the lentils and not have to forget them later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
Excellent soup! Filled our kitchen with the smell of exotic spices and lamb...Will continue to make this delicious soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
tried, true & tasty! It fills the mind with memories of Marakesh, My friends now claim my Harira is better than anyy morrocam restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
Delicious!! I used a bit of garlic and salt and left out the egg and noodles. A good middle- eastern flavour. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
A wonderful and very different recipe. Make sure you break up the vermicelli so that you are not trying to contend with long noodles in addition to the rest of the ingredients. Also, I would probably use slightly less cinnamon next time. Nevertheless, this soup came out superb. Also: The turmeric can turn things yellow like it did my wooden spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
A wonderful blend of flavors. A very satisfying dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
This is an excellent recipe! My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
Great soup...our kids enjoyed it as well, but it may have too many different tastes for most kids. We live in North Africa and the availability of fresh ingredients here make the soup even more tasty. Thanks to Usman!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
Very good and interesting!You really have to like lamb-it really permeates the flavor.I added about 6 cloves of garlic and about 4 Tb salt,since I can't seem to cook anything without either!I also didn't have noodles so I used 3/4 cup dry cous cous instead.I don't know if these changes are Harira faux pas,but they were good anyway!My kids even ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
Very different soup! Next time I would add some salt along with the other ingredients in Step 1. It definitely needed some salt, and adding salt after the fact didn't seem to help. My husband complained of a "vinegar" taste, which we attributed to the juice of a whole lemon. Perhaps only 1/2 of a lemon should be used. The taste of the lamb is very distinctive, so if you don't like lamb, perhaps you could substitute pork or beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Lamb Shank Vindaloo

See how to make a spicy, Indian-style curried lamb stew.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States