Harira Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
I did not find this soup worth even 4 stars and here is why: 1)Look how much pepper is used in the recipe (black pepper and cayene). The soup is extremly hot, burning. 2) On top of that, the recipe calls for canned garbanza beans which, no matter how well you wash them, retain the smell and the taste of sulfites. 3) The recipe does not call for salt. My first attempt to make this soup went down the drain, because of the first two reasons mentioned above. Salt did not help. My second attempt was better. I used dry garbanza beans soaked overnight, I cooked them without salt for more then an hour before using, then 30 more minutes with the salt. I used just a little pinch of cayenne pepper and no black pepper at all. Plus I added salt. No vermicelli, because soups with pasta better be eaten right away. Pasta tends to absorb water and become a dough again. So, since the quantity of the souop was too big for my family to eat in one day, I decided not to use pasta. We did not miss it. The soup was allright, might make again, but not by the original recipe - modified version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
As with most red meat soups this one is best left to age for a day. The fat solids will rise and skim off easily when cold. I forgot the noodle and egg at the last minute but the soup was not lacking. The cinnamon was a nice change for a soup recipe. I also used dry garbanzo beans instead of a can, this allowed me to put them in with the lentils and not have to forget them later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
Excellent soup! Filled our kitchen with the smell of exotic spices and lamb...Will continue to make this delicious soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
tried, true & tasty! It fills the mind with memories of Marakesh, My friends now claim my Harira is better than anyy morrocam restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
Delicious!! I used a bit of garlic and salt and left out the egg and noodles. A good middle- eastern flavour. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
A wonderful and very different recipe. Make sure you break up the vermicelli so that you are not trying to contend with long noodles in addition to the rest of the ingredients. Also, I would probably use slightly less cinnamon next time. Nevertheless, this soup came out superb. Also: The turmeric can turn things yellow like it did my wooden spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
A wonderful blend of flavors. A very satisfying dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
This is an excellent recipe! My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
Great soup...our kids enjoyed it as well, but it may have too many different tastes for most kids. We live in North Africa and the availability of fresh ingredients here make the soup even more tasty. Thanks to Usman!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
Very good and interesting!You really have to like lamb-it really permeates the flavor.I added about 6 cloves of garlic and about 4 Tb salt,since I can't seem to cook anything without either!I also didn't have noodles so I used 3/4 cup dry cous cous instead.I don't know if these changes are Harira faux pas,but they were good anyway!My kids even ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Lamb Shank Vindaloo

See how to make a spicy, Indian-style curried lamb stew.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States