Harira Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Thank you so much for contributing this amazing recipe. I prepared this before the Month of Ramadan so I can make adjustments. My husband loves it, he and his nephew said that I did it better than other Moroccans :-) Thank YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This soup was AMAZING!!!!!! As most users, I did a few modifications. I omitted the meat and pasta, and added more lentils. I also used about 4 cups of vegetable broth and 3 cups of water. I was able to use freshly grated tumeric and the taste was outstanding!!!! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I always make this to keep warm in the dead of winter, I use any type of meat on hand...beef, chicken, ect, although the lamb does make it special. I also skip the egg, use EVOO, and add carrots. I add the chick peas with the lentils so they simmer with the rest of the stew and become buttery soft, and I add minced garlic and cilantro at the very end (with the vermicilli)to retain their flavor. I could eat this forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Yummo. I served it with some wonderful Naan. I used ground lamb and probably spent more time "softening" the vegetables in step one, but other than that, I did it exactly. I'll make it again and again I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pulcinello

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This soup was really good. Made a few changes but over all followed the recipe exact. Used fresh tomatoes, added salt, added 2 lbs of lamb, and I did not add the lemon. This soup was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
This was very good, I made some changes for our taste, and by looking at other harira recipes. I will be making this again. Thanks for adding this recipe and bringing a taste of Morocco into our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Multigrain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Very good recipe. I used chicken breast instead of lamb and chicken stock instead of water. So I had to cut the salt down a little. I did not add the noodles. Delish! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
My husband and I loved this recipie! as soon as we fiinshed it, he wanted me to make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Absolutely lovely, everything a soup should be! Served best with warm batbout (pita)! I use cubed chicken breast instead of lamb. Everyone complimented on it when I brought it to Bible study, along with Moroccan rice. Don't let the "scary" spice combinations fool you, everything works wonderfully together for the average American palate. Also, I don't recommend using the crock pot; it takes around 6 hrs on high heat to get those lentils soft...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Good recipe, I did not measure the ingrediants .. but next time I think i'll add cumin to my mix and more salt. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Lamb Shank Vindaloo

See how to make a spicy, Indian-style curried lamb stew.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States