Harira Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This soup was AMAZING!!!!!! As most users, I did a few modifications. I omitted the meat and pasta, and added more lentils. I also used about 4 cups of vegetable broth and 3 cups of water. I was able to use freshly grated tumeric and the taste was outstanding!!!! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I always make this to keep warm in the dead of winter, I use any type of meat on hand...beef, chicken, ect, although the lamb does make it special. I also skip the egg, use EVOO, and add carrots. I add the chick peas with the lentils so they simmer with the rest of the stew and become buttery soft, and I add minced garlic and cilantro at the very end (with the vermicilli)to retain their flavor. I could eat this forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Yummo. I served it with some wonderful Naan. I used ground lamb and probably spent more time "softening" the vegetables in step one, but other than that, I did it exactly. I'll make it again and again I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pulcinello

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This soup was really good. Made a few changes but over all followed the recipe exact. Used fresh tomatoes, added salt, added 2 lbs of lamb, and I did not add the lemon. This soup was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
This was very good, I made some changes for our taste, and by looking at other harira recipes. I will be making this again. Thanks for adding this recipe and bringing a taste of Morocco into our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Multigrain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Very good recipe. I used chicken breast instead of lamb and chicken stock instead of water. So I had to cut the salt down a little. I did not add the noodles. Delish! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
My husband and I loved this recipie! as soon as we fiinshed it, he wanted me to make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Absolutely lovely, everything a soup should be! Served best with warm batbout (pita)! I use cubed chicken breast instead of lamb. Everyone complimented on it when I brought it to Bible study, along with Moroccan rice. Don't let the "scary" spice combinations fool you, everything works wonderfully together for the average American palate. Also, I don't recommend using the crock pot; it takes around 6 hrs on high heat to get those lentils soft...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Good recipe, I did not measure the ingrediants .. but next time I think i'll add cumin to my mix and more salt. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Fantastic! My butcher keeps large bones in their lamb stew meat - which makes for delicious broth - but next time I'll get 2 lbs so I have MORE MEAT! Followed everything else except I used jasmine rice in place of noodles. And I crockpot'd everything, adding the beans and lentils in the last two hours, and the lemon and egg at the very end. Fanfreakintastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Lamb Shank Vindaloo

See how to make a spicy, Indian-style curried lamb stew.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States