Harden Your Arteries Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
All right - Health Police - back off right now! This is GREAT pie crust - tender - flakey - everything a pie crust should be. Besides - I would rather eat lard or butter than hydrogenated shortening. I used this for chicken pot pie. It is a keeper! I doubled the recipe for a top and bottom crust. Note - freeze the lard in small cubes. I made this in the food processor, with short pulses - blended the flour and salt - added the lard - pulse - then added the egg and vinegar mixed together - pulse and then about 2 teaspoons of water. This will be my go to recipe for the holiday baking season. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Super freakin' easy for someone who's admittedly crust stupid. I did chill this dough overnight so it would be ready for what I needed today. I used this as the bottom crust for the Dutch Apple Pie with Oatmeal Streusel. Came out great! I'll use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This is the only pie crust - same as my mother made - my sisters make & I make. Please remember that "lard" is natural - no artifical junk like - Crisco - shortening - corn oil - thats what will harden your arteries. Not that lard is "good" for you - but lard and butter are better than that other stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This was SO EASY to roll out, I can't believe the difference compared to shortening. Very tasty with my chicken pot pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Made this crust with peach pie recipe from this site and it was excellent. My son said it was the best peach pie he's ever eaten, and he doesn't like peach pie! Light and flaky, just like grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
Truly the best-ever flaky piecrust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
This is tender, tasty, and very easy to make. It even comes out well when you accidentally add a tablespoon of vinegar instead of a teaspoon like I did. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I HAVE NEVER BEEN ABLE TO ROLL A CRUST UNTIL THIS RECIPE. CRUST IS EASY FLAKY AND TASTE GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
My grandmother back in Iowa summers used to make this crust for all her pies and they were the very best pies ever.The lard adds a wonderful oldtime taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Constance Alese Singley Turner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Once again I've found a winner! This crust was easy to make, easy to work with, and of course most importantly-Delicious! My elderly neighbor told me a few ingredients in her coveted crusts so I did some searching and this is the closest I've found to it and so good it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LalaBeansMom

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States