Hard Chocolate Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
After I saw a photo by misserin13, who used this glaze for cupcakes made with Dark Chocolate Cake I, I had to try it. The glaze is everything that previous reviewers raved about. It sets up to a beautiful, shiny, firm but not crackly, and delicious, but not-too-sweet glaze. I combined squares of semi-sweet chocolate with milk chocolate chips, and I used a mix of salted & unsalted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Tasted great and set beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poway, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I also used this on the flourless cake and it was great. Nice and shiny and very rich tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I also use this to top Flourless Chocolate Cake II (from this site). I put the chocolate and the butter in a metal bowl (my double boiler pan) and set it over the back burner of my stove while the cake is cooking. The heat venting from the oven melts the butter and chocolate while the cake cooks. No fuss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori K Cogan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I made this for biscotti. It was easy and stayed firm enough without being too hard. Good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PESTEE40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Wow! So simple and delicious! I needed a quick glaze to use on a not-so-pretty bundt cake for a bake sale. I only had a bag of Hershey's Special Dark chocolate chips. Microwaved for 3 minutes at 50% power then stirred until smooth and poured over the cake. Perfect consistency - I just marveled as it slowly dripped down the sides of the cake.... really made the cake! (Which sold in about 3 minutes after being placed on the table!! And beleive me, I had some competition!!) Best of all, with only two ingredients I think I may have this one committed to memory already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Beautiful and delicous! I let it cool until just before it set up so I could drizzle over my cake and have most of it stay on the cake rather than run off. Careful though, it goes from stirrable to firm fast! I like that this uses semi-sweet chocolate instead of chocolate chips. I know they are nearly the same, but I think the flavor is better (DH says he'd like it to have some milk chocolate combined with the semisweet) .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Very simple, covered my cake perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Islamorada, Florida, USA
Living In: Windermere, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Very easy and very tasty! Mine didn't harden completely, but was more like a thick, sweet icing. Good though, and handy for cake and brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
PERFECT! Simple, easy, on-hand ingredients - fast - tasty - & the shiny presentation was awesome! To say nothing of the fact that this recipe pulled me out of the fire at the last minute. THAT MEANS FIVE STARS!! ***** Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States