Hard Chocolate Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This was so easy. I figured out that I could just use a little over a cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips in place of the squares. I was looking for the recipe that would taste like a candy bar on the cake and this does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
In a word, PERFECT. I used good quality chocolate (Scharffenerger) and used this to glaze little egg shaped cakes made with the "Black Chocolate Cake" recipe. This was so easy, so quick, so rich and delicious. Shiny and glossy, very easy to work with, and sets up nicely. I kept the glaze in a double boiler and kept it warm as I glazed my little cakes--just dipped each cake--and had them glazed in a New York minute! I am so impressed with this glaze that not only will it become one of my favorite recipes, but I'm also going to tinker with it to make a white chocolate version as well (may have to adjust the butter for it, but I'll figure it out!) I believe that sooner or later this simple and beautiful glaze will "catch on" and it will become one of the favorites on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Wonderful thick rich chocolate that holds it shape without being hard. Used this on flourless chocolate cake II from this site that I made in mini muffin tins. I was able to stack these mini cakes with no sticking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Fantastic recipe! Here's a trick I learned from my dad: you don't need a double boiler to melt the chocolate! With the water heating in a regular saucepan, put two thick glass tumblers into the water. These become your double boiler! Put 1/2 the butter and chocolate into each glass slowly and stir with a butter knife or a spoon until everything has melted. I would suggest at least with this method to put the butter in first because it's harder to get it to melt if you melt the chocolate first. And experiment with different types of chocolate! I used 4 oz Nestle semi-sweet baking chocolate, 3 oz Ghirardelli 70% dark and 3oz Ghirardelli 100% cocoa and it came out delicious! I'd like to see how a few oz of mint chocolate would come out, too. :-) Good recipe! Will use again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
I used this on sugar cookies: I dipped my Hallowe'en cat cookies right into the bowl. It made a tasty, firm (not hard) coating. I made half a recipe, and used chocolate chips: 1/4 cup of cold butter with 5 oz of chips in the microwave for one minute, then stirred. They were awesome cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
This recipe is fabulous! I don't know why more people haven't tried it. I used it b/c the ingredients were simple, none of that corn syrup nonesense! I used 2 1/2 4oz Ghirardelli baking bars.(Each 4 oz. Bar Contains 8 sections(1/2 oz. each). 2 sections equal 1 oz. I have to admit I am horrible with math so I was confussed with the measurements for the chocolate. I used regular butter b/c I didn't have unsalted. As soon as I poored the glaze on my bundt cake it started to stiffen and has a wonderful shine to it. Not to mention it tastes great. I love it and will use this from now on. Thank you Trica for making my day and my cake great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N.NERO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Another nice thing about this recipe is that you can pour the glaze on top of a warm cake. (I did it with a 11x7" pan). Just tilt the pan to distribute the glaze. Great when you're in a hurry and don't want to wait for the cake to cool in order to frost it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
It was easy to make, and looked very nice, but I just didn't think it tasted perfect. Next time I will add Vanilla or almond extract to give it a little something extra. It stayed liquid long enough to work with, but set up nicely as soon as I put the cupcakes into the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
After I saw a photo by misserin13, who used this glaze for cupcakes made with Dark Chocolate Cake I, I had to try it. The glaze is everything that previous reviewers raved about. It sets up to a beautiful, shiny, firm but not crackly, and delicious, but not-too-sweet glaze. I combined squares of semi-sweet chocolate with milk chocolate chips, and I used a mix of salted & unsalted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
this is a great glaze. i found it did not get really hard but was more like the tops of a hostess cupcake , but tasted so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa r

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States