Hard Chocolate Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
used crisco instead of butter, works very well, best dipping fondant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Good glaze but it needed something extra not sure what. The chocolate was a little too semi-sweet. Would make again with some adjusting. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki4187

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Great flavor, but not quite as "drip-able" as I wanted. I had to help the glaze drip down the sides of the tube cake. I made the recipe as written, using Callebaut chocolate. With only two ingredients, each one should be top-notch. I would use this recipe again, but probably on cupcakes, where each one can be dipped in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Fantastic recipe! Here's a trick I learned from my dad: you don't need a double boiler to melt the chocolate! With the water heating in a regular saucepan, put two thick glass tumblers into the water. These become your double boiler! Put 1/2 the butter and chocolate into each glass slowly and stir with a butter knife or a spoon until everything has melted. I would suggest at least with this method to put the butter in first because it's harder to get it to melt if you melt the chocolate first. And experiment with different types of chocolate! I used 4 oz Nestle semi-sweet baking chocolate, 3 oz Ghirardelli 70% dark and 3oz Ghirardelli 100% cocoa and it came out delicious! I'd like to see how a few oz of mint chocolate would come out, too. :-) Good recipe! Will use again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soifua
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Very easy to work with. I used this glaze to coat the cake balls (from this site) and they set up wonderfully and when out of the refridgerator for a little bit it's still firm but soft, if that makes any sense. I've used it three times already and will use it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
So Good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Crazy~Great on the Flourless Cake II from this website. Even my picky 16 year old loved this glaze....Simple and Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I used this to top "Flouless Chocolate Cake II" and it was delicious and simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nissa G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
In a word, PERFECT. I used good quality chocolate (Scharffenerger) and used this to glaze little egg shaped cakes made with the "Black Chocolate Cake" recipe. This was so easy, so quick, so rich and delicious. Shiny and glossy, very easy to work with, and sets up nicely. I kept the glaze in a double boiler and kept it warm as I glazed my little cakes--just dipped each cake--and had them glazed in a New York minute! I am so impressed with this glaze that not only will it become one of my favorite recipes, but I'm also going to tinker with it to make a white chocolate version as well (may have to adjust the butter for it, but I'll figure it out!) I believe that sooner or later this simple and beautiful glaze will "catch on" and it will become one of the favorites on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This is the perfect glaze for cookies, brownies, cakes, biscotti...whatever! I reduced the recipe, let it cool slightly and then used it on a Ho-ho cake for the kids. It set up perfectly with a nice glossy look. I will use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilDish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KATE571
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Very good glaze. I used special dark chocolate bars in the glaze.I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATE571

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Walton, New York, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States