Hard Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I'm just a beginner, so I thought this would be a good one to try. Its great! With food coloring, its very pretty. Instead of flavored extract, I added a tbl of water to a packet of kool aide (cherry) and put that in. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
We are using this recipe to make our wedding favors. We were able to spray candy molds and use a candy funnel with stopper to put just the right amount of mixture into each mold. We now have beautiful, inexpensive, calla lily candies. I omitted the food coloring and chose almond flavoring. The candies are stunning and our guests will absolutely love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I've made this recipe twice now and one time I thought I would make banana flavored candy with banana extract (have used this before in other recipes and is delish!). I put in even a little more than the recipe called for and it smelled great and everything. But come time to break the candy and try it, it tasted like nothing, just sweet. Not even a hint of flavor, no smell, nothing!!! Bleh! Now another time I took another reviewer's suggestion and used one and a half packets of Kool-Aid dissolved in just a bit of water and this was much better... unfortunately I ruined the batch by putting it in a glass pan thinking I could cut it into squares before it cooled... dumb idea. Anyhow, I will try this again using another flavor of some sort, I'm not sure if it was the recipe or just that banana is a bad flavor to make candy with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
i made this but i used cherry jello mix,it tastes great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Excellennt. I scaled it back to 12 servings and doubled the flavoring. While it was still hot but touchable, I cut it into strips and twisted it around chopsticks, to make ribbon twists, and they looked great. If it is sticking in your teeth, you didn't let it heat up quite enough, try going all the way to 310 degrees using the (lowish)medium heat. This will normally take 20-30 minutes to heat after the boil is reached. If your burning it, turn your heat down to the low side of medium heat and take your time, it'll come out fine. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUN4REGINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Super easy! I make this every year and everyone loves it, although I usually double the flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
This is a very Good Hard Candy Recipe!An very Easy! Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicholas.S
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Great recipe! Used it to make a candy bowl!Tips on improving your luck with candy making. 1. If it's still a liquid, you either added too much water or you didn't reach the needed 300°F to reach a hard crack candy. 2. If your candy holds up but is kind of sticky when you eat it, you've made a soft-crack candy which forms at 275°F. Keep it on the heat longer. 3. Temperature is EVERYTHING in candy making, be patient and let it get as hot as it needs to be. Investing in a candy thermometer is useful but not entirely needed. If you don't have one handy, try out the drop-technique. Dip a spatula or spoon into your boiling sugar and drizzle it into ice cold water. When the strands come out brittle and glass-like, you've reached a hard-crack 4. Use a flavoring that's made for candy making! Not all flavorings are made to hold up at 300° in fact, most burn off completely before that leaving your candy flavorless. Lorann Oils is a great brand for hard candy. 5. DO NOT let uncooked sugar granules touch your candy before it hardens; it will cause the entire batch to quickly crystallize and become grainy. This includes the granules that splash up on the sides of the pot in the beginning! Keep those scraped down! 6. For a quick and easy cleanup, fill your pot with water and put it on the stovetop to boil. You can also throw in any candy coated utensils you used along the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Great hard candy base recipe. I made several flavors. Favorite is cayenne ciannamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hebron, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
Great and simple rescipe!!! Wonderful for beginners. I used lemon for one batch and strawberry for the other. Both turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States