Hard Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I made this over the holidays and what a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I loved this recipe! I did have to change the amount of extract from 1 tbsp to 2 tbsp. My first batch of strawberry was mostly sweet, so I doubled the amount of extract in the orange and it turned out perfect. I live 7000 ft. above sea level and it still worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natoli cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Grove, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Evanston, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I made this recipe last night for the first time using butter and rum flavoring, and it turned out great! Will definately be making more and giving some as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmdarlin

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chester, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marble Hill, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Followed the suggestion of using an unsweetened kool-aid packet+1 tbsp of water. We made a batch of berry blue. It was a big batch, maybe half next time. Everything turned out great. Keeps in a sealed container very well, I did not use any powdered sugar either, seemed to be just fine. No complaints! Homemade jolly ranchers, yeah....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tomasenalyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staples, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I made this and it was very easy. My kids loved helping and picking out the colors and flavors. Be sure to use a large saucepan instead of the medium or you'll have a big mess to clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This was probably my fault, but the candy didn't taste very good. I ended up tossing out the first batch (made with Kool-Aid powder as suggested by several reviewers), because it tasted really "off". I figured out that I probably had scorched the sugar syrup by cooking it over too high of heat. The second batch was "okay", but the flavor was still a little funny and wasn't strong enough (I used lemon extract this time, tripling the amount the recipe calls for). I think I'll keep searching for that perfect hard candy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Been using this type of candie recipe for years add colors for the holiday's and flavors that go with the holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Great hard candy base recipe. I made several flavors. Favorite is cayenne ciannamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hebron, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I have made this many times and it usually comes out great. For some reason this time the candy sticks to your teeth soo bad that it makes it hard to eat... Does anyone know why its sooo sticky to eat this time. Oh and its sticky to eat not to the touch...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
The recipe looked great and the texture was perfect but I suggest adding a lot more extract. I added a little more than a Tbl. and I can barely taste the strawberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States