Hard Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Simple and easy - just use candy thermometer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritajennings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Great recipe! This was my first time making candy. I bought a $2.00 candy thermometer from Walmart. Just do not spray Pam in the bottom of the sauce pot if you have one of those expensive ceramic ones. It will burn!1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I like this recipe. The only thing I'd change is using a large pot instead of a medium sized pot. I spent two hours hovering over the mixture in the medium sized pot, having to decrease the heat when the bubbles began spilling over the side, and then turning the heat up when it all subsided. Very frustrating! Once I transfered the mixture to a large pot, it was ready in 10 minutes. I used this recipe to make a candy rainbow for a cake top. I used 4 cake pans decreasing in size (12", 10", 8", 6", and then a ring from the lid of a canning jar), sat them, greased, one inside the other. When the mixture was ready, I quickly poured some into a large cup, added the color, and then poured into the space between one pan and the next. I did this for each color. I was happy with the result seeing as it was an experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I love this recipe but instead of greasing the pan i generously line the pan with powdered sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
excellent i used orange raspberry and lemon extracts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
great recipe!! I hadn't had this since high school and it is sooo easy!! I made cinnamon which was good however I like alot more cinnamon in mine but I'll know from now on still was wonderful I just want a lil more pow in it!! next up is strawberry banana flavor!! or Lemon can't decide may have to just make both lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I've made this recipe twice now and one time I thought I would make banana flavored candy with banana extract (have used this before in other recipes and is delish!). I put in even a little more than the recipe called for and it smelled great and everything. But come time to break the candy and try it, it tasted like nothing, just sweet. Not even a hint of flavor, no smell, nothing!!! Bleh! Now another time I took another reviewer's suggestion and used one and a half packets of Kool-Aid dissolved in just a bit of water and this was much better... unfortunately I ruined the batch by putting it in a glass pan thinking I could cut it into squares before it cooled... dumb idea. Anyhow, I will try this again using another flavor of some sort, I'm not sure if it was the recipe or just that banana is a bad flavor to make candy with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Photo by AHP
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I used this recipe today and it turned out great! I used Rum flavoring and no coloring. It tastes so good, my family and I can't stop eating it. I am going to try other flavors too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AHP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
This was short and easy. I usually wake up in the night and want something sweet. Tonight I didn't have any hard candy. This was an excellent 2 am fix.I did use vanilla instead of orange only because I didn't have any. Next time I will try the kool aide. I do need some suggestions on how to make it so it doesn't stick to your teeth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bucket of cookies
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Very easy and really good i will be making this again. Thanks Terry137
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bucket of cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States