Hard Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Ai-Chan
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
What a great hard candy for beginners! I doubled the extract, and it came out perfect! I will recommend this to anyone who wants to try and make their own hard candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ai-Chan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I make several batches of this each year everyone loves it. It is much easier to use parchment paper in place of greasing pan. Also use 1/2 to 1 dram of flavored oil. You can find the oil at a decoraters grocer or online. Lots of flavors available. My personal favorite is amaretto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This is wonderful! Just as easy as it sounds, and tastes just like I remember it. I can't agree more about the waiting, it seems to take FOREVER, but it is well worth the wait. When I added the flavor I thought it would be ruined since the little bottles from the drugstore only contain about 2 tsp of flavoring (surprise!), but any more cinnamon & it would have been too hot. The flavor was perfect, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shasta Lake, California, USA
Living In: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Will not try this again. It came out hard but when you eat it it sticks to your teeth really bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This looks like the recipe that I have for a candy called Stained Glass Candy. We made it every Christmas growing up. As teenagers we made it as a fundraiser near Christmas time for our church youth group. Some of my favorite flavors are: cherry, lemon, orange, cinnamon, butter rum and anise. We didn't powder sugar the top. It is great way to get your kids involved by having them help break up the pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
OMG, this is exactly how my grandfather made it every holiday season. He used to make red, green, white and yellow. Each got stored in a coffee can right next to the fruit leather and other dried fruits. My favorite was always wintergreen and anise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Watts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Eliot, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This is one of the best hard candies I have ever made. My famly loved it and I've made it 4-5 times. Great for Christmas. Another way it to change It from orange to lemon. Lemon is a little more tricky, because the extract is so strong. But in the end I loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This is the first time I made hard candy with it turning out great. I also doubled the extract. I used cinnamon with red food coloring, and peppermint with green extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I love this recipe the candy is sweet and gleued my mouth shut. Everyone that tried it loved it. When I made it the icing sugar melted into the candy, and it stuck together in storage. Dispite this it is a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This is the first time I have tryed to make hard candy. it didn't come out the way it should have. I let it come to a boil on med heat tested it the way the directions said too. put in the molds & still hasnt harden any idea's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DriverB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States