Hard Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Will not try this again. It came out hard but when you eat it it sticks to your teeth really bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This looks like the recipe that I have for a candy called Stained Glass Candy. We made it every Christmas growing up. As teenagers we made it as a fundraiser near Christmas time for our church youth group. Some of my favorite flavors are: cherry, lemon, orange, cinnamon, butter rum and anise. We didn't powder sugar the top. It is great way to get your kids involved by having them help break up the pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
OMG, this is exactly how my grandfather made it every holiday season. He used to make red, green, white and yellow. Each got stored in a coffee can right next to the fruit leather and other dried fruits. My favorite was always wintergreen and anise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Watts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Eliot, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This is one of the best hard candies I have ever made. My famly loved it and I've made it 4-5 times. Great for Christmas. Another way it to change It from orange to lemon. Lemon is a little more tricky, because the extract is so strong. But in the end I loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This is the first time I made hard candy with it turning out great. I also doubled the extract. I used cinnamon with red food coloring, and peppermint with green extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I love this recipe the candy is sweet and gleued my mouth shut. Everyone that tried it loved it. When I made it the icing sugar melted into the candy, and it stuck together in storage. Dispite this it is a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This is the first time I have tryed to make hard candy. it didn't come out the way it should have. I let it come to a boil on med heat tested it the way the directions said too. put in the molds & still hasnt harden any idea's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DriverB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Excellennt. I scaled it back to 12 servings and doubled the flavoring. While it was still hot but touchable, I cut it into strips and twisted it around chopsticks, to make ribbon twists, and they looked great. If it is sticking in your teeth, you didn't let it heat up quite enough, try going all the way to 310 degrees using the (lowish)medium heat. This will normally take 20-30 minutes to heat after the boil is reached. If your burning it, turn your heat down to the low side of medium heat and take your time, it'll come out fine. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUN4REGINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
its pure sugar thats just what my kids need!!!!!!!!!!!!! over all it was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Made this for Christmas. It was very easy to make. I used orange and strawberry extracts. Very good candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States