Hard Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This is the first time I made hard candy with it turning out great. I also doubled the extract. I used cinnamon with red food coloring, and peppermint with green extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I love this recipe the candy is sweet and gleued my mouth shut. Everyone that tried it loved it. When I made it the icing sugar melted into the candy, and it stuck together in storage. Dispite this it is a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This is the first time I have tryed to make hard candy. it didn't come out the way it should have. I let it come to a boil on med heat tested it the way the directions said too. put in the molds & still hasnt harden any idea's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DriverB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Excellennt. I scaled it back to 12 servings and doubled the flavoring. While it was still hot but touchable, I cut it into strips and twisted it around chopsticks, to make ribbon twists, and they looked great. If it is sticking in your teeth, you didn't let it heat up quite enough, try going all the way to 310 degrees using the (lowish)medium heat. This will normally take 20-30 minutes to heat after the boil is reached. If your burning it, turn your heat down to the low side of medium heat and take your time, it'll come out fine. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUN4REGINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
its pure sugar thats just what my kids need!!!!!!!!!!!!! over all it was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Made this for Christmas. It was very easy to make. I used orange and strawberry extracts. Very good candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I made this over the holidays and what a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I loved this recipe! I did have to change the amount of extract from 1 tbsp to 2 tbsp. My first batch of strawberry was mostly sweet, so I doubled the amount of extract in the orange and it turned out perfect. I live 7000 ft. above sea level and it still worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natoli cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Grove, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Evanston, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I made this recipe last night for the first time using butter and rum flavoring, and it turned out great! Will definately be making more and giving some as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmdarlin

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chester, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marble Hill, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Followed the suggestion of using an unsweetened kool-aid packet+1 tbsp of water. We made a batch of berry blue. It was a big batch, maybe half next time. Everything turned out great. Keeps in a sealed container very well, I did not use any powdered sugar either, seemed to be just fine. No complaints! Homemade jolly ranchers, yeah....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tomasenalyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staples, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States