Hard Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I made this last year at Yule and it was a huge hit with all my guests. One tip I can share is just after pouring use a pizza cutter to add horizontal and vertical lines to the candy it make it break into nice uniform pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alden, New York, USA
Living In: Williamsville, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This is a great recipe and it makes a ton of candy. Unfortunately, I tried it with only one little bottle of the flavoring which was 1 dram or 1/2 tablespoon. I recommend the full tablespoon or two of the 1 dram bottles. I am going to try and half the recipe, except for the flavoring, because I want to make multiple flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
soooo fun and a huge hit! I cut the recipes in half and used a package of Blue raspberry coolade in place of the coloring and extract, forgetting to cut back the amount on the coolade. That turned out to be the best mistake I could ever have made! JUST LIKE A JOLLY RANCHER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This is awsome candy. I used 2 packages of Ice Blue Kool-Aid (because it was all I had) and 1 1/2 TBSP of water. It turned out perfect. I can't wait to make it agian with different flavors !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Made cinnamon candy with this recipe and unfortunately will probably end up throwing it all away because it lacks flavor. I suspect it was because I used cinnamon extract and not cinnamon oil. I even double the extract quantity with only a mild cinnamon flavor as a result. I may try the "kool-aid" flavoring next time. Otherwise, the texture and ease of this recipe is spot on! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilmspunky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dugway, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This is an easy recipe to follow and my fiance and I had fun making this. We decided to use Strawberry extract for our candy. We followed the directions, broke our candy up, and when we went to eat it, there was no flavor! It was just sweet. Flavoring stronger than extract should be used or more than what is said to be used! Otherwise, it's a decent recipe when it comes to consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Very straight forward easy recipe. I cut the recipe in half and it still worked just fine. I found the extract amount to be just perfect - I was using pure peppermint extract. Worried if it was strong enough though (after reading other reviews) I did a hard ball test into water and then tasted the cooled ball to make sure the strength was there. After cooling it tasted just the same. I also used a silicone cake pan so didn't bother greasing it. The candy solidified and I could just stretch the pan off around it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I tweaked the recipe for my specific needs (mainly I had been given six lbs. of gummy bears and needed to get rid of them). Instead of flavoring, I added a couple of handfuls of gummy bears. Also, once it had cooled a bit, I pushed gummy bears into the (still liquid) candy for garnish. It's fantastic! It's very sweet but very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifercalling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by packupngo
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Did the recipee and it worked perfectly! I used about 5 to 6 packets of koolaid for flavoring...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by packupngo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Great recipe! As long as you know how to get to the hard crack stage, you won't need a thermometer. Also - needs lots more flavoring than stated! I needed two vials per batch, the recipe only calls for one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJackson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States