Hard Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
its a great recipe but it taste better if you use a flavored oil not extract. extract just doesnt have the flovor in in for the little bit required by the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I'm a beginner. This was super easy and came out perfectly with the Kool-aid. If you want a deeper color though, I would add color paste. I was able to pour into molds and the taste is right on!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martindale, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J216
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Used blue jello and Fumaric Acid(commonly used in store bought candy) for flavor and color, amazingly good! This was my first attempt to use a recipe to make hard candy, I highly recommend using Fumaric Acid if you are making fruit flavored candy or just want to give it a little extra kick. Fumaric Acid is a natural chemical that gives fruit that tart kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Great recipe. Didn't even have a thermometer, but by following the directions it set up perfectly. My only complain - couldn't taste the orange flavoring. Next time I will try doubling the extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Love this! We have made red/cinnamon and green/wintergreen for our kids teachers each year at Christmas. So easy they have been able to help since kindergarten...they are especially good at cracking the candy into pieces. TIP: to make waiting for 300 degrees easier, keep a lid on the pan (easy if you have a digital thermometer) or wrap foil across top if using regular candy thermometer. It makes it go quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This is a great candy recipe,it was my first time making it,and I used lemon extract just because I love lemon.It was very easy to make,great recipe for candy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This recipe is VERY simple and easy to follow. It does take patience. If you use Kool-Aid as suggested (one packet to a TBSP of water) the flavor and color are great. I wanted root beer candy and used 1 TBSP of extract as in the recipe, but it does not taste like anything. Next time I'm going to use 2 TBSP of extract for sure. **EASY way to clean your pan: Wait a few minutes for the pan to cool a little (to avoid warping the pan) and boil some water in that same pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This is like the recipe I grew up making everyyear for xmas. And if you want, once u add the food coloring and the extract. Put the confectioners sugar on counter (or baking sheet) Pour the candy onto this and then take scissors and start cutting it into pieces and then roll those pieces in additional sugar... COMES out GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I had to make a cake that looked like a beer mug with a suspended can of beer pouring a stream of beer into the mug. I used this recipe for the stream of beer effect. It was so easy and worked amazingly well. Looked like the real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I used this for candy molds and they turned out perfect! Easy to make and sugary results, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States