Hard Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I tried this and it worked great, i may be just a kid at cooking, but this worked amazing! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I did double the flavor extract! It very good candy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
So much fun to make and see the results, but definitely needs flavor. A tablespoon of raspberry extract did nothing, and we did wait until it stopped boiling to add it. Will try the kool-aid next time as other reviewers have suggested!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watertown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Vernon, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Super easy to make - turned out perfect for the Frozen themed cakes I am making! I didn't use the confectioners' sugar because I wanted the candy to look like clear ice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Easy and fun to make! I made half as much, used ginger tea for my cup of water, and topped it all with powdered ginger instead of powdered sugar. It turned out great! Next time I think I'll play with the shaping of the candy itself, but overall, a fun weeknight kitchen experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsey Crank

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Super Easy recipe for Hard Candy! The only thing I would do different in the future would be to add more flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I made this recipe to use as part of a Frozen birthday cake (pieces of blue ice sticking out of the top), and it came out great. However the powdered sugar was stuck to the candy, dusting it white instead of being a clear blue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Worked like a charm! I made 1/3 of the recipe and it was more than I needed for the accent work on a "Frozen" themed cake. For reference, it could have easily spread out to cover a half sheet pan. Also... I made it on a whim and didn't realize I only had (3!!) jars of DARK corn syrup, but I went with it anyway, dying it blue at the end, unsure if the blue would really come through and it worked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I worked without thermometer, but suggestion given in directions was enough. It took me longer to get to the right temp as I worked slowly to build the temperature up, but the results are more than perfect. oh, and kids are happy too!! thank you!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
4 stars only because I wish it would have said approx time to leave boiling on stove. I don't havea candy therm, and my other therm must have been off. I didn't want to burn it, so I took it off too soon apparently. Ill try again with candy thermometer and I know to keep it on longer now. I used banana extract and 10 drops blue food coloring. Looks great for disneys Frozen "blue ice" that I'll be using for a cake!*** EDIT***- 2nd time around was a success! I bought a candy thermometer and it does need to stay on the stove a LOT longer than you would think. I did not time it, wish i would have to give readers an approx but i will be making it again this weekend and will try and remember to time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana Zinn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States