Hard Boiled Eggs in the Oven Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
If you check out my photo, you can see that mine are not pretty. Hard boiled eggs are not my forte, so I'm going to give the recipe the benefit of the doubt, particularly since our oven can be a bit contrary. I planned to pickle mine, so i wasn't worried about presentation and decided not to bother with the tips from prior reviewers regarding preventing the spots. My eggs did end up with a tony spot or two per egg were contact was made with the tin. I simply sliced it off. The shells did not come off easily for me and one egg was totally ruined. I kept it in the photo so you could gauge the "doneness" of the yolks. While I wouldn't use this method when presentation was clutch, it'll be nice to use when making macaroni salad, or something similar, where presentation is moot. THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Works great, peels easy. Baking gives the yolks a little different/better taste. I do this all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I have tried this recipe many times. I love the texture, as the eggs come out creamy. if you don't like the brown areas caused by the muffin tin, don't dispair! Simply put the eggs on the oven rack instead. Brown spots appear, but do not go all the way through to the egg itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Davis Schroeder

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
For the folks who have a problem with the burnt spots, the solution is to keep the eggs from touching the muffin tin. There's probably other ways to do it, but I took a sheet of aluminum foil, put it over the top of the muffin tin, pushed it down a little into the cups so that the eggs don't roll out. I also only cooked them at 325, but for the full 30 minutes. They came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsWest
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I love how eggs cook in the oven compared to boiling! I read about the red/hard spots people are getting where the eggs touch the pan. Alton Brown's YouTube video shows him doing this but with a thoroughly damp towel laid on the oven rack then resting the eggs on the town so they never touch metal. I had no red or hard spots. I posted a picture of my peeled eggs with one egg cut open to show the perfect yellows. This is my go to method from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
The eggs aren't rubbery, but yes you will have spots and I Also noticed that the overall color of the white isn't quite as white as when you boil. But, most recipes call for the eggs to be chopped, dyed, halved and stuffed so it makes no difference. A purist should probably stick to boiling but this is so easy I will do it this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I was not impressed with this recipe. I only cooked mine for 25 minutes because I knew my oven was a litter hotter. The side the of egg that was on the bottom of the pan, all of them had a brown mark on them. I was only using them for egg salad but I would have been upset it I needed them for deviled eggs. They did not peel well, either. Going back to boiling them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Just tried this and had just as many explode as in boiling water. I took them out 5 min early when I heard the mini explosions in my oven. Plus now I have awful burn spots that I can't just peel off without ruining the look of the egg. The little brown spots went away after soaking in ice water for 20 min. But the burnt looking spots are not fixable that goes right through the egg. Not to mention the peeling was atrocious. Maybe for egg salad this is ok but NOT FOR DEVILED eggs. I'll stick with the tong trick and boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trista Hergert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. They had brown and yellow spots on the boiled white part of the egg inside. Most chunks of the shell stuck to the egg and I had a hard time removing them. I was making them for deviled eggs and the outside has to look good, so by the time you cut off the yellow and brown spots, and then gouge out where the shell pieces stuck to the egg, they were not presentable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I was disappointed - I tried 3 eggs and found at least 2 spots on each egg which is unacceptable for "deviled" eggs. I will continue with bringing to a boil, and then cover with lid (off the burner)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

How to Hard Boil Eggs in the Oven

See how to make oven-baked “hard boiled” eggs.

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States