Happy Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This soup made me HAPPY! I added potato flakes and cayenne and it was perfect. So simple and yet so good! thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbypa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This a very lovely soup. I always favor soups with pure, light flavor, especially when you have a sick hubby to take care of! The name of this recipe says it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
My husband and I love, loved, loved this soup. I changed it up a bit, just because of personal preferences. I used a combo of Navy and Pinto beans instead of kidney, I added a touch of potato flakes to thicken the broth a bit, and added shredded chicken breast for added protein. It was great. Thank you so much for this recipe it is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Kapolei, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I made this as written and it turned out very bland, and very low on broth as well; quite unsouplike. Added a couple broth cans full of water, more basil, thyme, some Old Bay, salt, pepper, oregano, a generous pinch of rosemary, and couple cloves of garlic. Something was still lacking, the answer ended up being a chicken flavoring packet from a ramen-type soup. I would think bouillon cubes would work as well. Much better with the additions, but still disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I had to make this soup because I had tortellini in the fridge and the name is great! I cooked (and subsequently refrigerated) my tortellini separately so we could have leftovers sans dissolved tortellini. I also noticed that the broth in the recipe's one picture looks kind of creamy, so I added some instant mashed potato flakes to thicken it up (about 1 cup). I'm sure the soup is great as is, but it turned out really well this way, too and I plan to use the potato flakes again in the future because it gave it some good substance. The only thing I will change is to use a pinch of cayenne pepper instead of the pepper flakes because while we enjoyed the slight spiciness, the pepper flakes made us cough some. It's true that the flavors of the soup are not complicated, but we thought everything went very well together and it's too easy not to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was great, and so easy! I used a can of kidney beans and one of black beans as well, and some herbs de provence. Yum! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kiss the cook
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This Happy Soup made my all my picky eaters happy! I was looking for a tortellini soup recipe that didn't have tomatoes or mushrooms per my picky eaters. This one was perfect. I didn't have kidney beans so I used red beans. The red pepper flakes gave it a kick. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiss the cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
What an easy yet delicious recipe! I didn't have kidney beans, so substituted with black beans. It darkened the broth, but tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
This was OK, but it tasted to me like what it was - a bunch of different things dumped in a pot. The flavors didn't blend enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJULIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
This was such a quick and easy recipe to make! Especially with a toddler and infant underfoot! I too had all the ingredients on hand and we all enjoyed it with warm biscuits :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Be Prepared Five-Bean Soup Mix

With this dry bean mix made in advance, soup’s ready when you are.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States