Happy Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Delicious and pretty as a picture! Just a wonderful blend of color and fresh flavors. Light, just right creamy sauce--not thick or too rich. I didn't measure precisely, just kind of eyeballed the ingredients trying to keep in proportion to the amount specified in the recipe. I didn't have cayenne, so substituted a couple shots of Tabasco sauce instead. Served over a bed of hot, buttered spaghettini (thin spaghetti) and "Baked Zucchini de Provence"(also from this site), this was a dish I'd be confident to serve to anyone. And it comes together easily with just a few fresh ingredients--cooking the pasta takes longer than it does to prepare the dish itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
All I can say is I am HAPPY to have found this recipe, it is wonderful! Very well balanced and flavorful, not to mention easy. The sauce is incredible! I will be making this over and over. Here's a hint though, you can also make it with boneless chicken breasts, sliced into bite size pieces. If you like mushrooms, they are a great addition. Thanks so much for this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMINMI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Michigan, USA
Photo by MrsRosser
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Incredibly delicious! I made it with low fat margarine and cream and served it over whole wheat pasta - making it a very healthy main dish. I will definitely make this again! But the portion really was only enough for me and my husband. I'd probably double it for 4 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsRosser

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This is one of favorite recipes. I do a few changes though: I use olive instead of butter, use fat free 1/2 and 1/2 instead of heavy cream for a more slimming version, use whole wheat pasta & Parmesan cheese. turn everything off and let it sit for 5 munutes or so to let the noodles soak out the sauce. A very yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Made this last night and it was WONDERFUL!! I used light cream instead of heavy cream and added bay scallops plus shrimp and it came out delious with a perfect light cream sauce. Served over angel hair pasta...SO Yummy..will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I used whole wheat fettuccine noodles and tripled the sauce as I wanted to be able to soak up a crusty bread in it. I also used margarine instead of butter. Used the salt, pepper and cayenne pepper to taste until it was what we were looking for. Family loved. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This is a great company and family friendly recipe. I can't have garlic, so I sub with shallots or sweet onions. When cooking shrimp, don't overcook. It gets rubbery really fast. It should form a "C" not an "O" when done. If they curl up and look like "O's", they are overcooked. This is also cooked with lobster meat or crab. Living on Puget Sound as I do, I use the Dungeness Crab. (Fresh, not canned.) I've made this recipe for about forty years. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
4 stars only because I think there should be a little more liquid (sauce) in this meal. If your making over angel hair pasta then it should be enough but I like to have a little more sauce with my pasta. Other than that this is a GREAT and QUICK meal to make. Even had a 5 and 7 year old happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Opelousas, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Silsbee, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
After trying this last night, this is going to be a new favorite for us! When I asked my boyfriend what he wanted to have tonight he said, "Can we have what we had last night again?" I had to leave out the green onions because mine had gone to mush and I used light cream instead of heavy (probably why the sauce didn't thicken like I had wanted) - but mmm. Great quick dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
this recipe is great!!! It's super easy, quick and delicious. This one made it to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States