Happy Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This chicken came out beautifully! I had to make a few modifications, by necessity. First of all, the chicken I used was a bit smaller than the recipe called for, so I only used one lemon, which I cut into quarters. I also put a small chunk of onion in the cavity as well. The other modification I made was that the only white wine I had in the house was a plum wine, which was very sweet. However, the chicken still came out wonderfully, and didn't taste overly fruity or sweet. It was moist and didn't have an overpowering lemon, or garlic, or mustard flavor. In fact, the skin didn't taste like mustard at all. This is good news for anyone (like our family) who isn't too keen on Dijon mustard flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
578 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharlotteMay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
While it was very tasty, I think the recipe should state a cooking time of at least 1-1/2 hours. It took us 2 hours to get a 3.8 lb bird cooked because we took it out after 1 hr and had to put it back in. After another 30 minutes it still wasn't done. I'll either increase the temp or the cooking time next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
423 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolena74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I followed this recipe almost exactly which I rarely do and it turned out awesome! I did make a salt/pepper/garlic powder mix and rubbed under and on the skin prior to the Dijon. I had Trader Joes well known "two buck chuck" chardonnay on hand to use for the white wine. My family loved it and I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
298 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veglover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
YUM, this was delicious! I did not have a cast iron skillet, so I just used my usual chicken baking dish. Also, I did not measure the dijon and in addition to the salt and pepper, I also seasoned it with garlic powder. This came out incredibly moist, juicy and flavorful. I will be making this often! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Juicy, good flavor. I ALMOST left off the Dijon mustard, because it just sounded WRONG, but I couldn't tell I'd used mustard, so glad I followed the recipe. Used CAST IRON skillet, uncovered, and I believe that's important to the recipe. Baked at 425 for 15 minutes, as stated, but only another 50 minutes at 350. It's important to TAKE CHICKEN OUT OF FRIDGE & take the chill off the bird before you put it in the oven. It takes less time to cook. ****Update 4/5/12****Okay, after reading a question from a reviewer about wine in cast iron, I checked it out. Seems NOT good for the pan to use wine undiluted, because of acidity, so I will use 1/2 wine & half water or chicken broth tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Not being a fan of wine, mustard or lemons, I was skeptical. This turned out amazingly though! The flavor was delicious and if I didn't already know, I would have been hard pressed to specifically name the combination that created it. I made gravy from the drippings and there was a lemon tartness to it, but that was delicious too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Riegel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Having only one lemon, I squeezed the juice over the well-seasoned skin before applying the Dijon, then added an onion half and thyme sprigs to the cavity as well. Roasting in cast-iron seems to be the key to delicious pan juices, not to mention that clean-up is a breeze in a well-seasoned pan (why didn't I think of that ??). Without a doubt, this is the epitome of roasted chicken perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This so simple yet totally delicious! The only slight variation I made was to season the bird with a little garlic in addition to the salt and pepper. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmama307

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Excellent chicken! I made a few minor changes just to make it a little more personal but WOW! Who would have thought that dijon mustard slathered on a lemon-garlic-white wine roast chicken would be so darn good! Thanks for the new favorite roast chicken recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Loved this chicken. I just added a bit of garlic salt under the breast but otherwise made it exactly as written. The juiciest baked chicken I have ever made. I also took the lemon halves from inside the chicken and squeezed them overtop the cut up pieces before I served it. My kids absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Happy Roast Chicken

So simple and delicious, it had to be called happy.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States