Happy Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This is an easy, delicious recipe that we all love. Did have to adjust cooking time - added about 30 minutes or so. The skin comes out a wonderful golden brown and the flavor is divine. I am not a huge mustard fan so I was a bit skeptical, but the flavor was truly outstanding. The gravy had nice citrusy undertones. Have made it on several occasions, and it came out great each time. I highly recommend this recipe - make sure to use a cast iron skillet if you have one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This is my go to chicken recipe now. Foolproof and easy. Very tasty. Would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Used Chicken Broth instead of the Dry White Wine and it was still very delicious! Very Very Moist!! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This came out amazing so juicy. I did use a thermometer to determine rather it was done. The cooking time was pretty close. Keep in mind cooking time are always going to vary somewhat because of different ovens. I made a mash of minced garlic and the butter and pushed it under the skin and rubbed the chicken with salt and pepper before the mustard. I did not have a lemon so I used a large vidalia onion. I also did not have white wine so I used red and it came our perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I need to try this one again. I beleive though that putting the chicken into a preheated pan is important to get the initial sear which is nice on a chicken to seal in juices. I would alternate it that way and add the wine about a minute after the chicken has had a moment to sear in the pan in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
My family loved this. I appreciated having a different way to prepare roasted organic whole chicken. I didn't have a cast iron skillet, so I used my stainless steel skillet. I also used minced garlic from a jar. The preparation was so quick and easy and the results so impressive. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
We didn't like this chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
THE most amazing chicken I have EVER tasted!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I'd give this 4.5 stars. I love dijon mustard and I love white wine, so this made a lovely flavoring for a roast chicken. It was a refreshing change from my standby olive oil and rosemary and it was packed with flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Made this tonight and it not only looked beautiful, it was one of the juiciest, most delicious chickens I've had. The skin was also super crispy and I didn't even have to broil it at the end like I usually do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Happy Roast Chicken

So simple and delicious, it had to be called happy.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States