Happy Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
It was okay but didnt have a lot of flavor besides lemon. Next time I would definately add more seasonings to add some more flavor to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I made this tonight with a 6 lb chicken, and it was so moist! I followed all the instructions, except increased the wine, butter, and Dijon, and only used half a lemon, since it was all I had. Yummy and very fast prep! My answer to rotisserie chicken. Used the cast iron skillet, too. Not worried about the acid of the wine, as the juices from the chicken and the evaporation would take care of it, I think. I did preheat the skillet. We used the broth over potatoes. Doesn't need any extra salt with the Dijon. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Never ever will I buy the pre-made rotisserie chicken again! This was my 1st time roasting a whole chicken so I was nervous but it turned out WONDERFULLY tasty and juicy. I added some thyme springs into cavity along with some quartered onions. I used coarse dijon mustard for the rub. I will try to salt & pepper under the skin and in cavity next time. Cooking time was about 20 min longer for me and I broiled for a teeny tiny bit at the end. Skin was crisp and the chicken was falling off the bone. Recipe is a major keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Susan O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
So easy and tasty. We added a bed of diced potatoes, onions, garlic, butter and parsley under the bird when we switched it to 350 degrees. It made it a one-dish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Pleasantly surprised how moist and tasty this chicken was. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Great recipe, I use it for my turkey as well. The skin is delish! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savannah Zaporosky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Super yummy!!!!! HOWEVER...a few suggestions or alterations - I had a 5.5 pound chicken instead of a 4 pounder, and I could barely fit 2 lemon halves and 5 cloves and garlic in the cavity. Also, I ended up cooking the chicken for about 2 hours after the initial 15 minutes. Just make sure you check the temperature of the chicken with a thermometer as the recipe mentions. Once finished, chicken was VERY moist, and tasty. The dijon mustard was not noticeable and I think added nice coloring to the outside of the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
The cast iron pan is a must. I've cooked several roast chicken dishes in aluminum pans and I always have to put them under the broiler to crisp up. I didn't roast a whole chicken, just two bone-in chicken breasts. I added small potatoes to the pan too and sprinkled with rosemary - turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I made this chicken once before and am making it again now as I write this. Up until the last time I was using a beer butt chicken recipe whenever I wanted roast chicken, which I really liked, but I decided to try this on a whim. My husband said it was the best roast chicken I had ever made and I really liked it, too. Considering that it's way easier than finagling a beer can up the rear end of a chicken and trying to prop to up on its legs, AND it tastes better.... well I probably will be making it this way from now on. It's not overly mustard-tasting, it's just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mayensi
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
It was really tasty and easy to make. It turned out really juicy. I would make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Happy Roast Chicken

So simple and delicious, it had to be called happy.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States