Happy Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Wow! Very nice, moist chicken! I used 2 Tbls butter under skin, added 2 fresh sprigs of rosemary under the skin with the butter as well as one in the cavity (I love rosemary) and after rubbing with dijon I drizzled a bit of my 25yr balsamic on top... So Yummy!! Very great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Used chicken broth instead (didn't have wine) and was still very good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hank

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
The chicken turned out moist and delicious. I used chicken broth instead of wine. The reviews were helpful also. There seems to be a differnce of opinion on the temperature and length of time. One reviewer said she always roasts her chicken at 425 degrees for an hour and ten miutes. The last half an hour I turned it up to 425 degrees. It sped up the cooking time and it had a golden skin. It looked and taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita Hanson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I love roast chicken and have a few recipes that I default to. I am so glad I tried this one, as it was so easy and so good! The first time I cooked it I followed the recipe exactly and was blown away. I just realized (we had it last night) that I forgot the wine this second time! Oops. Didn't change the flavor at all. Both times I made a simple gravy with the drippings, flour, milk, s&p, and a dash of cayenne. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
the "BEST" Roasted Chicken EVVVER !!!! Will Never Cook No Other Way !!! Made Exactly to Receipe except added One Spring of Fresh Rosemary Only Because I Have Fresh in My Yard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This chicken was fantastic! I'm always a tad leery of cooking a whole chicken, but I love rotisserie chickens from the deli and wanted to try and create my own at home. I used a glass dish to bake it in and I only used 1 and 1/2 lemons. My only flaw was when I salt and peppered the skin, I guess I used too much salt, making it too salty. Not sure if the dijon mustard had anything to do with it, or not. I also ended up baking it closer to 1 hr. and 30 minutes. Loved this and will definitely make it again, I just won't use any salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Very yummy. Made as directed and it turned out perfect. The skin had a hint of Dijan and the meat was as good as any roasted chicken I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I added garlic to outside and made in a ceramic lined DUTCH OVEN (no acid in cast iron) The flavors are settle but the chicken is the juiciest I've ever made. Shared this recipe with coworkers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Peru, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Loved this chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ohio Cook Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Okay, this is one those extremely RARE, hard to find, magical mystery recipes. First, let me just say, WE LOVED THIS!!! I thought it sounded somewhat simple... well, simple maybe, but most definitely OUTSTANDING! As other reviewers noted, I have no earthly idea where the mustard flavor went, except into an awesome gravy! But honestly, I didn't measure the mustard, but rather liberally rubbed it on and we were amazed that there wasn't a "mustardy" taste to this chicken. Just a truly moist chicken on the inside and a PERFECT crispy skin on the outsdie. As I mentioned already, the gravy was phenominal. Thank you SO much for sharing this happy chicken recipe. It has made us happy indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Happy Roast Chicken

So simple and delicious, it had to be called happy.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States