Happy Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This recipe was great. I used yellow mustard, minced garlic, and a sweet red wine and the ending result was awesome. Everyone in my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
i don't know what kind of 4lb chicken he used, but the 5lb chicken i had could only hold 1-1/2 lemons. that being said, i think 1/2 of a lemon would have been sufficient. make sure you don't season the bird until you apply the dijon, and make sure you season it almost to excess. i didn't have a cast iron skillet so i used my dutch oven (i adjusted my cooking time to let the bird brown more), mine came out of the oven a nice golden brown and was succulent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misterchi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
The Best and easiest chicken recipe. Excellent flavor and very juicy!! Never thought of using mustard as a coating. But Totally Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Quogue, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Absolutely wonderful. I mixed some salt, pepper, garlic powder, and the dijon together instead of putting the mustard and seasoning on separately. Despite smelling VERY mustardy at the beginning, by the time it was done you cuold barely taste the dijon. The cooking time seemed to be a bit off though. It took me nearly two hours to cook at 3.8 lb chicken. It was moist and delicious when it was done though. Worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
this is my new go-to roast chicken recipe!my little twist? i use my cast iron pan to roast and for liquid, a split of champagne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Husband said it's the very best chicken I ever made. And I've cooked many a chicken in 23 years. Didn't have any lemon, so put about 3 tablespoons in the cavity. SO moist!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Hands down best roasted chicken I've ever made. Pretty much followed recipe to the letter. Made it for the first time a couple of months ago and will be making it again soon (just waiting for the 90 degree heat wave to end!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I guess its time for me to rate this recipe since I've been making it for about a year now :) This was one of the first recipes I saved to my recipe box and was quickly added to a regular rotation. I've made this with several white wines and it consistently turns out great! One time I didn't have any white wine & used apple juice (sounds strange I know) and it STILL turned out moist and yummy. I no longer measure the ingredients, just stuff the bird with garlic and lemon (you can also through in whatever fresh herbs you may need to use up, I've used left over rosemary from another recipe) eyeball the wine and slather on the Dijon evenly and about two hours later (I usually do five pounders) it's coming out great. I don't even use cast iron. So simple. So good. You can do a lot with the leftovers as well! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Was skeptical about this recipe, however, I made it exactly as written and this was delicious, so glad I tried it. Very simple to put together, my husband loved it, this is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I had a chicken cut in half - which was perfect for the cast iron skillet. That meant I had to just add lemon (juice) and garlic to the wine. Husband said it was wonderful. I did baste it about mid-way through. Used the white zinfandel I had on hand. Would make again.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Happy Roast Chicken

So simple and delicious, it had to be called happy.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States