Happy Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Great recipe! Followed almost exactly, had no dry white wine so used water with a splash of vinegar, worked out though cause end result was delish! Dijon mustard on the skin is amazing, I don't even like mustard...well now I found something that makes it taste great! Anyway, will definitely make again and will try with the dry white wine next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I'm not a big roast chicken fan but this was easy and had a great taste. I will make again. The only thing I added was some scallots. Craig
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Very simple to make and VERY tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muldrow, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This recipe gets 5 stars because it is so darn easy yet it tastes delicious. Plus the name is cute. AND it makes the kitchen smell delish while it is cooking! If you like tweaking, though this recipe doesn't really need tweaking except for a little more butter under the skin, read on. After you wash the bird, dry it THOROUGHLY, including the cavity, and season the cavity with salt (or maybe garlic salt) and pepper. If you do not dry the bird well it will not brown as nicely as it should. Consider adding any or all of the following to the cavity: quartered onion, celery, chopped apple and some fresh thyme sprigs. You can also put some thyme sprigs or some dried chopped thyme under the skin. I added some fresh parsley sprigs and a quartered onion to the wine in the pan. And, I put more butter under the skin than the recipe called for. Cooking times will vary depending on the size of your bird. I suggest taking it out before it is completely done as it will continue to cook while it rests. About the only thing that will ruin this fabulous recipe is overcooking it and ending up with a dry bird. Kudos to Chocolate for a fab recipe! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington Crossing, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Fantastic. The breast meat was very juicy. And the flavor was delicate, not over powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ascott73802

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This was the best! I could only fit one lemon, so i was glad i didn't cut both in advance. I add some whole carrots, cut in half lengthwise and some onion to the white wine. Didn't have a cast iron pan and used a regular baking dish. One of the best recipes I've tried on this site. Thanks, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Chicken came out somewhat tough and took a lot longer to cook than stated. It took probably 2 hours or so to get the proper 180 degree reading. I'm wondering if over stuffing it with lemons and garlic prohibited it from cooking faster. I think I'd rather put that stuff around the chicken next time. The other recipe I made on this site with butter basting the chicken came out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Great and easy roast chicken, though I put rosemary and a lemon half in the chicken along with the garlic halves to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
The best tasting roast chicken I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I followed the recipe and it turned out GREAT!! The skin was crispy,and had lots of flavor.the meat was very tasty.My wife said it was the best meal I ever made(hint for valentines day guys).THe prep was SOOOOO easy,I served it with mashed potatoes and green beans,truly a great meal!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dwight, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Happy Roast Chicken

So simple and delicious, it had to be called happy.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States