Happy Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Yum! Never would have thought to roast a chicken in a cast iron pan, moist, juicy, flavorful and simple to make! Was worried that the dijon would dominate the seasoning, but not the case at all. Def will make again, weeknight and/or for friends and family who come to visit. Used a chardonnay that I had on hand, added some fresh rosemary to the cavity from the garden also... took suggestions and added a little water to the wine. delicious! Thank you for sharing! absolute winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Wow!!!! This chicken was so moist and tasty. My husband and son loved it. We are garlic lovers, so next time I will probably rub the skin with the garlic before putting it into the cavity. The Dijon gave a wonderful flavor boost. We will be doing this next time we have company for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This wash delish! The only thing I did differently was I actually put it in the slow cooker. I sat it on top of 4 bunched balls of aluminum foil and the chicken melted in my mouth after 8 hours. We strained the drippings and added cornstarch for the best gravy ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I think this needs a 10 star rating! Only thing I changed was used a roasting pan w/o the lid the chicken is so tender and that lemon taste wow! I did as another Woman used the dripping to make gravy and it was fantastic thank you for sharing this easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Fantastic recipe - the chicken was perfectly crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside! Just a note - I had to add about 10 minutes to the cook time for my 4 lb. chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyCooks716

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
We only had red wine, but it was really tasty. We used a Dutch oven with the lid off until it got a little too close to dark. It is very flavorful. Mustard seemed odd, but it works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I generally follow the recipe as written, except if there is an ingredient we just don't like. In this case it was so hot out I cooked my chicken on the indoor rotisarrie with ingredients as listed except for the wine. It was delicious and the left over chicken has a lovely light lemon aroma and flavour. Perfert for a salad of left overs with a Polynesian twist. Will definately make this again. The chicken with the mustard wash did not taste of mustard and I may use a combo of mustard next time a grainy on and the Dijon. The chicken turned out golden brown and looked as good as it tasted. Recommend this recipe - you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Hey Chocolate...this is one great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Victoria, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I was VERY pleased with how this bird turned out! And will use this recipe as my "go to" recipe instead of "go to" Kroger and get one already roasted. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is I'd like more seasoned flavor than it already has...will experiment with different fresh herbs in the future. Oh, and because I didn't get any wine (I don't like dry wines)...I used a dark beer instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I make this quite often as my family really enjoys it. My only change is I add fresh herbs (Italian parsley, basil and sage - all fresh from my garden) under the skin when I do the step with the butter being placed under the skin. So yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Happy Roast Chicken

So simple and delicious, it had to be called happy.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States