Happy Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Fantastic recipe - the chicken was perfectly crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside! Just a note - I had to add about 10 minutes to the cook time for my 4 lb. chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
We only had red wine, but it was really tasty. We used a Dutch oven with the lid off until it got a little too close to dark. It is very flavorful. Mustard seemed odd, but it works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I generally follow the recipe as written, except if there is an ingredient we just don't like. In this case it was so hot out I cooked my chicken on the indoor rotisarrie with ingredients as listed except for the wine. It was delicious and the left over chicken has a lovely light lemon aroma and flavour. Perfert for a salad of left overs with a Polynesian twist. Will definately make this again. The chicken with the mustard wash did not taste of mustard and I may use a combo of mustard next time a grainy on and the Dijon. The chicken turned out golden brown and looked as good as it tasted. Recommend this recipe - you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Hey Chocolate...this is one great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Victoria, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I was VERY pleased with how this bird turned out! And will use this recipe as my "go to" recipe instead of "go to" Kroger and get one already roasted. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is I'd like more seasoned flavor than it already has...will experiment with different fresh herbs in the future. Oh, and because I didn't get any wine (I don't like dry wines)...I used a dark beer instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I make this quite often as my family really enjoys it. My only change is I add fresh herbs (Italian parsley, basil and sage - all fresh from my garden) under the skin when I do the step with the butter being placed under the skin. So yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Flavor was really good and the chicken was extremely moist. The drippings also made awesome gravy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GracePCC3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I got this recipe off the Rachel Ray show and have made it many time. Everyone loves it! The drippings also make a delicious gravy!You really have to pay attention to the size of your chicken and adjust time acordingly. A 4 lb chicken should be cooked 15 minutes longer than it states in the recipe. I have had people want the recipe from me, so that says it's good right there! Peggy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I made this and it was good, but we like orange chicken better than lemon. I squeeze the juice of an orange in a bowl, add honey and thyme. put squeezed orange halves and one onion cut up in the cavity. Salt/Pepper chicken, Roast 375 degrees, last half hour pour orange juice mixture over chicken and baste til done. Makes a great sauce and aroma throughout the house is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This is one of the best roast chicken recipes ever. We wanted to take a spoon to eat the juice right out of the bottom of the pan. Moist, intense flavor, and easy. What more could you want?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Happy Roast Chicken

So simple and delicious, it had to be called happy.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States