Happy Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Pleasantly surprised how moist and tasty this chicken was. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Great recipe, I use it for my turkey as well. The skin is delish! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavannahSince86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Super yummy!!!!! HOWEVER...a few suggestions or alterations - I had a 5.5 pound chicken instead of a 4 pounder, and I could barely fit 2 lemon halves and 5 cloves and garlic in the cavity. Also, I ended up cooking the chicken for about 2 hours after the initial 15 minutes. Just make sure you check the temperature of the chicken with a thermometer as the recipe mentions. Once finished, chicken was VERY moist, and tasty. The dijon mustard was not noticeable and I think added nice coloring to the outside of the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
The cast iron pan is a must. I've cooked several roast chicken dishes in aluminum pans and I always have to put them under the broiler to crisp up. I didn't roast a whole chicken, just two bone-in chicken breasts. I added small potatoes to the pan too and sprinkled with rosemary - turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I made this chicken once before and am making it again now as I write this. Up until the last time I was using a beer butt chicken recipe whenever I wanted roast chicken, which I really liked, but I decided to try this on a whim. My husband said it was the best roast chicken I had ever made and I really liked it, too. Considering that it's way easier than finagling a beer can up the rear end of a chicken and trying to prop to up on its legs, AND it tastes better.... well I probably will be making it this way from now on. It's not overly mustard-tasting, it's just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mayensi
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
It was really tasty and easy to make. It turned out really juicy. I would make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Wow! Very nice, moist chicken! I used 2 Tbls butter under skin, added 2 fresh sprigs of rosemary under the skin with the butter as well as one in the cavity (I love rosemary) and after rubbing with dijon I drizzled a bit of my 25yr balsamic on top... So Yummy!! Very great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Used chicken broth instead (didn't have wine) and was still very good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hank

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
The chicken turned out moist and delicious. I used chicken broth instead of wine. The reviews were helpful also. There seems to be a differnce of opinion on the temperature and length of time. One reviewer said she always roasts her chicken at 425 degrees for an hour and ten miutes. The last half an hour I turned it up to 425 degrees. It sped up the cooking time and it had a golden skin. It looked and taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I love roast chicken and have a few recipes that I default to. I am so glad I tried this one, as it was so easy and so good! The first time I cooked it I followed the recipe exactly and was blown away. I just realized (we had it last night) that I forgot the wine this second time! Oops. Didn't change the flavor at all. Both times I made a simple gravy with the drippings, flour, milk, s&p, and a dash of cayenne. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Happy Roast Chicken

So simple and delicious, it had to be called happy.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States