Happy Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
this is my new go-to roast chicken recipe!my little twist? i use my cast iron pan to roast and for liquid, a split of champagne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Husband said it's the very best chicken I ever made. And I've cooked many a chicken in 23 years. Didn't have any lemon, so put about 3 tablespoons in the cavity. SO moist!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Hands down best roasted chicken I've ever made. Pretty much followed recipe to the letter. Made it for the first time a couple of months ago and will be making it again soon (just waiting for the 90 degree heat wave to end!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I guess its time for me to rate this recipe since I've been making it for about a year now :) This was one of the first recipes I saved to my recipe box and was quickly added to a regular rotation. I've made this with several white wines and it consistently turns out great! One time I didn't have any white wine & used apple juice (sounds strange I know) and it STILL turned out moist and yummy. I no longer measure the ingredients, just stuff the bird with garlic and lemon (you can also through in whatever fresh herbs you may need to use up, I've used left over rosemary from another recipe) eyeball the wine and slather on the Dijon evenly and about two hours later (I usually do five pounders) it's coming out great. I don't even use cast iron. So simple. So good. You can do a lot with the leftovers as well! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Was skeptical about this recipe, however, I made it exactly as written and this was delicious, so glad I tried it. Very simple to put together, my husband loved it, this is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I had a chicken cut in half - which was perfect for the cast iron skillet. That meant I had to just add lemon (juice) and garlic to the wine. Husband said it was wonderful. I did baste it about mid-way through. Used the white zinfandel I had on hand. Would make again.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
It was okay but didnt have a lot of flavor besides lemon. Next time I would definately add more seasonings to add some more flavor to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I made this tonight with a 6 lb chicken, and it was so moist! I followed all the instructions, except increased the wine, butter, and Dijon, and only used half a lemon, since it was all I had. Yummy and very fast prep! My answer to rotisserie chicken. Used the cast iron skillet, too. Not worried about the acid of the wine, as the juices from the chicken and the evaporation would take care of it, I think. I did preheat the skillet. We used the broth over potatoes. Doesn't need any extra salt with the Dijon. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Never ever will I buy the pre-made rotisserie chicken again! This was my 1st time roasting a whole chicken so I was nervous but it turned out WONDERFULLY tasty and juicy. I added some thyme springs into cavity along with some quartered onions. I used coarse dijon mustard for the rub. I will try to salt & pepper under the skin and in cavity next time. Cooking time was about 20 min longer for me and I broiled for a teeny tiny bit at the end. Skin was crisp and the chicken was falling off the bone. Recipe is a major keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Susan O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
So easy and tasty. We added a bed of diced potatoes, onions, garlic, butter and parsley under the bird when we switched it to 350 degrees. It made it a one-dish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Happy Roast Chicken

So simple and delicious, it had to be called happy.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States