Happy Mountain Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2015
I personally think this is a good meal. It has all the basic nutrients for a runner. It's not sugary. It's very balanced. Pretty good for people who don't have the time to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Green Thimbles

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
We call it "Hawaiian Haystacks" but this is one of my favorite dinner staples. Super fast and easy. I am a really picky eater and don't like odd combinations but this is perfect. It is perfect for a quick small meal or a big group meal. I love it! I was so happy to stumble on this recipe because while staying with my parents with my recipe book packed away for a few months I forgot about it. I'm soooo glad to have seen it. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Here is a tip to make this a very easy dish: place the chicken breasts in a slow cooker on high for 3-4 hours. No liquid is needed--they'll be fine. Once they are very tender, mash them up right in the slow cooker with a potato masher. Easiest way in the world to shred chicken and it takes about 10 seconds to do! At this point you can stir in your soup. I usually find that no extra water is necessary. When serving them, we usually have diced celery and slivered almonds for toppings as well as those toppings mentioned in the recipe. The coconut and pineapple may sound bizarre to you, but don't omit them--you'll be pleasantly surprised by the great flavor this combination creates! This is my whole family's favorite recipe EVER and it is EASY and DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy
Home Town: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
I love this recipe. I have made it for years, but mine is just slightly different - simmer chicken with chicken broth, when chicken is cooked, shred it and add back into pan with broth. Add some cream of chicken soup and some cream or milk to make a gravy. Put out your ingredients in a long line and have your guests make their own plates. Suggest that they add all the ingredients because the flavors are great together. I use rice, chicken & gravy, cheddar cheese, diced celery, diced green onions, pineapple tidbits, shredded coconut, slivered almonds and chow mein noodles. YUM! Everyone raves about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
Fast and Easy.. but tasteless...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe. These are my layers: rice, yellow cheese, gravy with chicken chunks, olives, tomatoes, green onions, pineapple chunks, mushrooms, green peppers, and chow mein noodles! Heavenly!! ( I call mine Hawaiian Haystacks.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PamH
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
I couldn't find green onions in the local grocery, so I picked up a regular white onion instead. Don't do it! It was overpowering the other ingredients. But, even still, the meal was delicious! Who knew what adding chow mein noodles to a meal could do! :) I served it with peas, and the peas ending up becoming part of the mountain as well. It's all a good combo. Next time, I may throw in mushrooms too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I have made this recipe (also known as Snow on the Mountain) many times for group gatherings and it has always been a hit. Here are some things I do or have done differently. Use leftover turkey or a whole chicken cut up, boiled and meat removed. Use the broth to make a homemade gravy rather than use canned soup. And for other toppings we use diced celery, slivered almonds, raisins, frozen peas and peanuts. Having a variety of toppings available is good for group gatherings, but the ones listed in the recipe are a must for anytime. We love it and make this at least 2-3 times a year. YUM! Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Baker's Dozen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
Made this for the kids and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
This is my very picky family's favorite meal. Everyone can put what they want on their plate. I also put out chopped black olives, chopped green pepper,chopped waterchestnuts and maybe some chopped almonds for people to put on their 'mountain'. I also like putting a little soy sauce on my plate. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Happy Roast Chicken

So simple and delicious, it had to be called happy.

Oh-So-Good Chicken

This cheesy chicken and rice casserole stars salsa, sour cream, and mushrooms.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States