Happy Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This was a very good cake, and I would make it again. I did have problems with mixing in the egg whites at the end because I was afraid of overmixing and thus defeating the purpose of whipping them. I think it made for a crumb that was not as fine as what I usually like. I halved the recipe and made two 6" round cakes. I then cut those in half horizontally (which I didn't do very well) so that I could layer more frosting inside. I was doing this for an experiment for a birthday cake I had to make, but I finally opted for a more tried and true one that I had good luck with. I'll try this one again and instead halve it and bake in two 9" rounds. Carol certainly has entered a lot of fine recipes into AR's bank of desserts! Thanks, Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
VERY DRY! I followed the directions EXACTLY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
great recipe!!! easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Sorry, but this was the worst cake I have ever made! I had to double it, as it said it would only fill one 9x13 (but three round pans? Doesn't seem right.) Anyway, that added to the difficulty of mixing this very heavy batter. Yes, I softened the butter prior to creaming, and also beat the eggs until they were stiff enough to form peaks, although it took so long, it overheated and destroyed my favorite hand mixer :( The finished cake had an OK, dense muffin-like taste. The only good thing about this cake is that I expect it is dense and hard enough that it would hold up to being decorated with heavy fondant without caving in. But still, if even children won't eat it, might as well not bother. I have a rheumatologic condition, with bad joints in wrists, fingers, and feet, and making this cake was so physically strenuous in that regard that I am now in too much pain to help with preparing Thanksgiving dinner. And I have to buy a new mixer. I am not happy at all with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This is a great cake recipe! We made cupcakes, as that is what my daughter wanted for her birthday. We added colored sprinkles for confetti cupcakes. The texture is lovely - similar to a cake mix but without disintegrating, as I find is the case with cakes made from mix. As for the egg smell and taste that other reviewers mentioned, I didn't find that at all. I did, however, use a generous amount of quality vanilla. My suggestion to those who found it under-cooked in the middle, is to reduce temperature down to approximately 323 C for a few extra minutes (after the initial cooking time.) This allows the middle to fully cook without browning the bottom and edges. (I frequently do this with banana loaves, as well.) This is my new go-to recipe for birthday cakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by talldrink419

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I made this recipe based on the many reviews I read. It didn't have much flavor as my other scratch recipes have, and it was dry. I had to bake it 20 minutes longer than what the recipe called for. I have a similar recipe that calls for more milk, and that one is VERY moist. I'll just go back to that one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
OH Wow!! This cake is great! Very TASTY,SWEET and had a good density. Close to a pound cake kind of dense. I frosted it just with Cool Whip and made a simple strawberry sauce but it didn't need it at all, altho tasted great together! Definitely a keeper for birthday cakes or anytime you want a special and very simple cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VioletSkies

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
So good! Not often that a layer cake gets eaten and has ppl nearly fighting for more. Non dessert eaters also eating 2 pieces says a LOT. I will make this again!!! I used the whipped cream frosting on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This is also one of my mother's recipes and when she gave it to me she was a bit forgetful and forgot to mention 3 tsp. of baking powder. I am glad I found this recipe. My mom puts in a tsp. of lemon extract which gives it a nice hint of lemon in it. We also bake it for 1 hr and 15 mins on 325 in a tube pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I have made quite a few white cakes from scratch and followed the recipes correctly, but it was either the taste, texture, or stacking ability that lacked in my opinion. **THIS RECIPE IS BOMB!** I made it exactly as it called for, except needed to bake for another 10mins(which I was prepared for from reading a lot of reviews first). I separated the batter in to 2 9"circle pans and 1 8.75x8.75" square pan. I made the bottom tier of my cake the 2 circles and cut the square cake in to 4 triangles and made the top tier a small square. The cake didn't crumble, it held frosting great and tasted amazing! My house smelled like birthday cake for hours and everyone asked me what box mix I got (haha!!) I definitely recommend preheating the oven for at least 15mins to reach 350 and I froze the cakes in syran wrap for a day before I decorated because I had a lot to prepare, i.e. frosting and fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

How to Make a Space Shuttle Cake

See how to make a birthday cake that looks like the space shuttle!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States