Happy Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2001
I really needed this recipe to work since I'd promised to make my friend a birthday cake and I hadn't made one from scracth in years - and it didn't disappoint! I used self-raising flour instead of plain flour (I think that's what's mean by all-purpose?) and caster sugar because I am so bad at mixing out lumps... The result was a dream. It was the lightest cake I've ever tasted and had a beautiful taste to it. Everyone loved the cake and asked for the recipe, so I pointed them towards this one. Thanks a lot! It was divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2000
WOW - this cake is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2000
This is one of the best cakes EVER. It was perfect for decorating (Wilton-style) and the taste was out of this world. I used this cake for a Baby Shower at work and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2000
*****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2000
I made this recipe for my daugther's birthday last week. This is the best yellow cake that I have made from scratch. Very moist with good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2000
I had to rate this at the top for each category, because for a "from scratch" cake, this is quick and easy -- Betty Crocker can't match it. If you follow the instructions and don't overwhip the egg whites (should be just able to stand up on the end of the beaters, but shouldn't resemble the early stages of styrofoam (!). I made this in three 9-in. layers and used my own "throw-together" buttercream icing. I made it two weeks before my daughter's 2nd birthday to test it and it passed -- she ate a big piece (she doesn't eat sweets, generally) and the party guests gave generous compliments. This is THE ONLY yellow cake recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2001
Very stable and tasty. Mine took a bit longer to cook than the time stated. It was worth the extra effort to whip the egg whites. The cake rose very nicely and made a lovely birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2001
I LOVED this cake! My fellow 5th Graders loved it too and theyn asked me to bake it again and again! I also baked it for my family and they loved it too. I will always use this recipe to bake any sort of cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2001
I made this cake for my daughter's fourth birthday and decorated it with decarator's icing. Everyone said it tasted better than the ones I had been buying from our town's bakery. I will always use this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
I made this cake for my son´s birthday and he and his friends loved it. Excellent recipe. The cake is light and fluffy, goes great with the Lady Baltimore Frosting, also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States