Happy Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I like another reveiw is wondering why this recipe got such a great reveiw. this cake is very dense and does not make a good birthday cake. Would not make agin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
great recipe and very easy to follow, but i wish it was a little more fluffier. it was my first time making it but i'm going to keep trying to see why it wasn't as fluffy as i wanted :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Excellent flavor, but extremely dense. Didn't work well for a birthday cake, but I would make it again for dessert, maybe with a berry compote?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This was a good tasting cake, but much too sweet and heavy for my tastes. I was really looking for a light and fluffy cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Great and so easy to make...I'll definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This cake came out beautifully, but I only gave it 4 stars because I had to make a lot of adjustments. First of all, make sure to soften the butter before you mix it. This makes it easier to work with and helps melt the sugar. Secondly, I would decrease the amount of sugar in this recipe by about half a cup because it turned out very sweet. Thirdly, I had to add an extra half cup of milk to the recipe to smooth out the batter. And lastly, it was necessary for me to increase the cooking time by an extra 20 minutes before it was done. However, with all of those adjustments, the cake turned out very moist, fluffy and sweet. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
very easy to follow recipe. i liked the cake, but i found the texture to be somewhat strange. all in all it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I only used 2 cake pans vs. 3, and used fresh made whipping cream with finely sliced strawberries in between the 2 layers of cake. My students loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I found this recipe very unsatisfactory and i was surprised it was given a good review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anton Ego

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This is my first homemade birthday cake. I cut the recipe in half to make a smaller cake, and used 1/2c sugar and 1/2c splenda then followed the rest of the recipe exactly. Put 'Quick Fudge Icing' on top, IT TURNED OUT WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fulton, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States