Happy Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Katie&Tara
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
It was wonderful!!!! It did take 2X as long as it says to cook, its also heavy but very moist and flavorful. I used a buttercream fondant instead of frosting. Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie&Tara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
made this for my daughters 1st bday however I did add almond.yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelmommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Nice recipe. I added more almond extract and the cake was moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timolyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Tried this recipe because our town bakery stopped making cakes on weekends, my daughter turned one on a Sunday and I was not going to make a box cake for her 1st birthday. I must say I was scared to death, my family can be harsh and everyone has as opinion. Started the cake on the morning of the party, set it out to cool. My sister recommended injecting it with rasberry preserves, we made a basic butter cream icing, layered it with icing and thin layer of rasberry preserves. 3 layers in all. sprinkled white chocolate over the top. We put pink decorative icing on the top and a beautiful pink candle. I was so nervous when we sang Happy Birthday and we cut the cake. Everyone started to compliment me, and I was dubbed the official birthday cake maker from now on. My husband said that the cake made our little one's special day even better. Thanks for posting the recipe that made my husband proud of me and my efforts. I feel bad that I had never attempted making a cake for our 16yr old all these years. If you need a great tasting cake try this recipe. Highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Whit1173
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I do not consider myself an expert baker, but my daughter warmed my heart when she asked me to bake her 5th Birthday cake myself. I was looking for an easy cake recipe. This cake was easy to make & had a great taste-I received lots of compliments on it! I used the recipe for the wedding cake icing from this website & just added water until I got a spreading consistency that I liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whit1173

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Easy and very good for decorating. Quite a heavy cake, but very managable when layering. Sift flour before measuring and again while mixing in. I have used this recipe a number of times (usually for a coloured birthday cake) and haven't been disappointed yet. Use in combination with "Quick and Almost-Professional Buttercream Icing" for a sweeeeeeeet treat ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Very moist and light worked well with buttercream frosting. Will use again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexdale, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Marsaskala, Malta Island, Malta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I have made this cake twice now and it's very good and moist. No adjustments needed. It tastes great with buttercream icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Very good cake! Very moist, baked it for my daughter's 2nd birthday - the whole cake was gone... I made a 10" round and a smaller cake, had to cook it for a lot longer than recipe said (which others said too.) delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States