Happy Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I love this cake! I made it for my mother's birthday and everybody loved it. I made it because I had all the ingredients at home. It taste buttery and moist. I put chocolate filling in the middle and decorated it with a cream cheese frosting. I would definitely do it again. I think next time I will do cupcakes with it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupeboop

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Literally tasted like a store-bought birthday cake, but fluffier and lighter. Really good recipe for a basic easy to make birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I was embarrassed to serve this at my daughter's first birthday party. I will not be making this cake again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This is an AMAZING cake; however, i feel that it takes a lot of effort and i can never quite get it to turn out of the pan right (but maybe that's my problem). I have made this cake oh... 10 times and every single time i make it people just rave about it. I always have to cook it for 10 -15 minutes longer but i live at 8500 ft and it could just be the altitude. Long story short, kind of a hassle but definitely worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Excellent flavor, nice crumb (a touch more dense, but I like that), and so very moist. I always add more vanilla. I put "Whipped Cream Filling"(see recipe on this site) between layers, and decorated with a vanilla butter cream on top. Stayed just as moist and tasty for the next 2 days after the party. If you want it less dense, don't stir it as much. Just fold in stiff egg whites until JUST MIXED. Should turn out lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I have made this cake several times. The first couple it came out differently, one being flat and heavy. I found it's VERY important to whisk the eggs with beater for a long time until very stiff. It's all about the eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Came out great for my Mom's 60th birthday! I baked in 2 8 inch springform pans, layered center with raspberry preserves, and frosted with buttercream from this site (see my custom recipe). I doubled the vanilla, increased milk slightly (about 1/4 c.), and reduced sugar to 1 1/2 cups. Next time I may reduce baking powder by a third. Cake was moist enough that there was no need to brush layers with simple syrup, but I might do this to keep the cake moist if I were making it a day ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna Singh Mason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I used almond extract instead of vanilla, and I baked it a little too long, but it was still fantastic! This was the recipe I have been searching for, I will definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I made this cake in a 9x13. I made it exactly the way it read except a added just a small amount (didn't measure) of milk at the end because the batter was REALLY thick. The only thing that I noticed was that after 30 minutes at 350 the knife came out covered in raw batter. The cake was quite dark at the point so I turned the oven down to 300 and cooked another 10 minutes. Came out of the pan pretty well. I haven't had a piece yet but the crumbs were tasty and my 2 year old son pinched a chunk out of itand wanted more more more! This cake does seem very dense but I don't know why that would be a bad thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I just made this cake as a practice for my little girls Ariel birthday cake next week and you know its a good sign when your kids can't keep from licking the spatula and bowl and say "this is good icing". Its a sweet cake that is wonderful without icing. It turned out so good I'm trying to decide if I should go ahead and freeze it for the real cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

How to Make a Space Shuttle Cake

See how to make a birthday cake that looks like the space shuttle!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States