Happy Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I used almond extract instead of vanilla, and I baked it a little too long, but it was still fantastic! This was the recipe I have been searching for, I will definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I made this cake in a 9x13. I made it exactly the way it read except a added just a small amount (didn't measure) of milk at the end because the batter was REALLY thick. The only thing that I noticed was that after 30 minutes at 350 the knife came out covered in raw batter. The cake was quite dark at the point so I turned the oven down to 300 and cooked another 10 minutes. Came out of the pan pretty well. I haven't had a piece yet but the crumbs were tasty and my 2 year old son pinched a chunk out of itand wanted more more more! This cake does seem very dense but I don't know why that would be a bad thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I just made this cake as a practice for my little girls Ariel birthday cake next week and you know its a good sign when your kids can't keep from licking the spatula and bowl and say "this is good icing". Its a sweet cake that is wonderful without icing. It turned out so good I'm trying to decide if I should go ahead and freeze it for the real cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
This cake is fantastic!! Made as written...real butter and skim milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This recipe was ok. It was very heavy which I don't prefer but do not find awful. My husband did not enjoy it at all and has asked me to never use this recipe again. I did read a comment where someone just added an extra cup of milk and I plan on trying this again with the extra milk to see if that makes it better for my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
takes pretty good, really dense
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This is the type of cake I love - like pound cake, sweet, not needing flosting. I made it for my son's birthday cake, which didn't go so well because its not the light fluffy type that kids like. But this goes really well with afternoon tea. Like others, I based twice as long
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This cake is very crumbly almost like cornbread. I like dense cakes but this one was too crumbly and dry. My guest thought it was strange for a cake to be falling apart the way it did
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Absolutely amazing! I made this for my mother's birthday party and everyone raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
not bad; very sweet though, depends on your personal taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States