Happy Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Ugh, was more like a sweet bread than a cake. Not doing this one for a birthday cake again. Glad I did a test run before the big day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
this cake was absolutely delicious! my friend made it for me for my birthday - honestly the best cake i have ever eaten. it was so moist and delicious. definitely recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
It was a very delicious cake. My family loved it!Though I changed the serving size to 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I love this cake! I made it for my mother's birthday and everybody loved it. I made it because I had all the ingredients at home. It taste buttery and moist. I put chocolate filling in the middle and decorated it with a cream cheese frosting. I would definitely do it again. I think next time I will do cupcakes with it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupeboop

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Literally tasted like a store-bought birthday cake, but fluffier and lighter. Really good recipe for a basic easy to make birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I was embarrassed to serve this at my daughter's first birthday party. I will not be making this cake again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This is an AMAZING cake; however, i feel that it takes a lot of effort and i can never quite get it to turn out of the pan right (but maybe that's my problem). I have made this cake oh... 10 times and every single time i make it people just rave about it. I always have to cook it for 10 -15 minutes longer but i live at 8500 ft and it could just be the altitude. Long story short, kind of a hassle but definitely worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Excellent flavor, nice crumb (a touch more dense, but I like that), and so very moist. I always add more vanilla. I put "Whipped Cream Filling"(see recipe on this site) between layers, and decorated with a vanilla butter cream on top. Stayed just as moist and tasty for the next 2 days after the party. If you want it less dense, don't stir it as much. Just fold in stiff egg whites until JUST MIXED. Should turn out lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I have made this cake several times. The first couple it came out differently, one being flat and heavy. I found it's VERY important to whisk the eggs with beater for a long time until very stiff. It's all about the eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Came out great for my Mom's 60th birthday! I baked in 2 8 inch springform pans, layered center with raspberry preserves, and frosted with buttercream from this site (see my custom recipe). I doubled the vanilla, increased milk slightly (about 1/4 c.), and reduced sugar to 1 1/2 cups. Next time I may reduce baking powder by a third. Cake was moist enough that there was no need to brush layers with simple syrup, but I might do this to keep the cake moist if I were making it a day ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOTHEBOMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States