Happy Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I made this cake exactly as the recipe read. It was moist and wonderful. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KPinck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Baked this twice and it was denser than I thought. I didn't separate the eggs the second time but got similar results. I would add more vanilla extract (maybe a tablespoon) for more flavor. However it pairs nicely with light whipped cream and some berries :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Made for my son's bday. Made with xylitol and made at altitude and it came out great! Tastes like a real bakery cake! Moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jlo
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This birthday cake is absolute perfection... first time to make it, followed the directions exactly. I was able to make a 2-tier cake with this recipe (one 10" round & one 8" round). Cooked 45 mins. convection oven (the 8" was done at 35 mins). I covered the cake with sliced fresh strawberries (mixed strawberries in organic yogurt), bananas, kiwi and spread melted chocolate only on outside of bottom layer. The cake itself was not too sweet, so the toppings I had added complimented it perfectly that everyone at the BDay party wanted 2nds. (please see my photo)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This has become my go-to cake recipe. I get rave reviews every time I make it. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barboursville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Great cake. Everyone loved it. It was a little flanky on top but taste delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I could swear I followed the recipe exactly, so who knows what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I'm baking these cupcakes for my daughter’s birthday party this year. We did a test run and she loved them so much that she wants me to make extras so her friends to take one home with them. Very moist and yummy! I used the Betty Crocker homestyle frosting and turned out perfect. I checked online and found that Box and Wrap was a great place to get cupcake boxes. I have stickers, markers, and crayons so the kids decorate their own cupcake box. At least the extra baking will keep me from buying party favors to give the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I made this cake a couple years ago and did not like it and vowed to never make it again. Then, Yesterday, I went looking for a highly rated birthday cake recipe and came across this one again. Not realizing this was the same one we intensely disliked previously, I made it again. Very Very dense. Not recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
It was just ok, more like angle food cake. I used bakers sugar and cake flour in hopes of a light and fluffy cake. I did not want a dense cake like others spoke of- No luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States