Happy Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
This is not a birthday cake by any traditional sense. You may eat it on your birthday, but it's not fluffy at all. It came out more like a pound cake than a birthday cake. Also, the batter overflowed my 9*13 baking dish, so I'd skim off about 3 tablespoons before pouring. Otherwise, it's a good pound cake imitation if you put another teaspoon of vanilla for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
This is very similar to a pound cake recipe. Firm, slices great without crumbling. I made double the recipe and used the other rounds for strawberry short cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by www.changeofsceneweddings.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lockport, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
This was kind of a weird recipe. It wasn't really what I was looking for. It wasn't too sweet, and it was very dense. It is probably a great cake for a strawberry shortcake dessert, but I am not sure about a birthday cake. Of course, I couldn't use this as the birthday cake that I was baking for my best friend, because I dropped half of it on the floor when I turned it out of its pan. I guess it was a good thing that happened, because I was able to go for another yellow cake recipe that was more of what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
I made this for my brother's birthday yesterday and topped it with Chocolate Frosting I, also on this site. It was great! My whole family loved it, one person saying "This is definately better than boxed cake!" I'm not a fantastic baker, I can admit it, but this was easy enough for me. It was worth the extra work of whipping the egg whites because it made the cake nice and moist. And yes, it does smell like an omelet coming out of the oven as others have mentioned, but it does NOT taste like one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
Followed the recipe and it was suprisingly easy. Put lemon frosting on(luscious buttercream frosting recipe using lemon alternative). One suggestion-if you're baking this as a sheet cake turning the pan about half to three quaters of the way thru cooking will help with more even baking. Mine was over done on one end and it took about 50 min. to cook probably would have been less flipping the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
Hands down, this recipe beats a store bought cake mix by a mile! I have never prepared a "from scratch" cake before, but after having "Happy Birthday Cake," I'll probably never buy a store bought cake mix again. Though this recipe was more dense than a store bought mix, I prefer it that way. And the flavor and texture was simply amazing. I used "Wedding Cake Frosting" as another reviewer suggested, and the match was absolutely perfect. My wife loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
I`ve made this recipe dozens of times with excellent results. Whether it`s cupcakes for little ones or birthday cake for seniors, all have raved about it. As for those reviewers who didn`t like, let them eat other cake:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
I made this for my mum's birthday, and had many compliments about it! It was beautiful spread with fresh whipped cream and topped with sliced strawberries and pansies. Next time I'd make two layers, and sandwich them together with raspberry jam or cooled custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
add some flavor or it is very drab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
I like this recipe for a birthday cake and it tastes great! If you make it properly, it is light, soft with texture resembling a chiffon cake. I also tried it on as cupcakes, changed the flavor to cheese and added 1 cup of grated cheddar cheese and I had cheese cupcakes. I also tried it with cinnamon powder and I had cinnnamon cupcakes. All of these I served during my daughter's birthday party and everyone loved it! Thanks Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sam fores

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bacolod City, Negros Occidental, Philippines
Living In: Davao City, Davao, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

How to Make a Space Shuttle Cake

See how to make a birthday cake that looks like the space shuttle!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States