Happy Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
This is the best birthday cake in the world and I have made a lot of cakes. Use real butter if you can! It rises beautifully and is of perfect texture. I used a cream chees icing. One 8 oz. block cream cheese, 1/2 cup marg. 1tsp. vanilla and about 4 cups icing sugar. YUMMY!! Thanks for the recipe. Susan from Nova Scotia, Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
This cake was delicious- a nice, slightly dense, moist cake. It was actually my first layer cake (so I followed all steps carefully), and it baked very well. I made it with Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting (also submitted by Carol)- yum. I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
This cake was delicious! Especially with some strawberry butter cream frosting on top and inbetween layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HELLODJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
Delicious! I use this all the time now for family birthdays, alternating with the Black Magic Cake, also on this site. Be sure to follow directions as far as adding the beaten egg whites separately. I sometimes substitute 1 cup of canned coconut milk for the milk, and use the frosting from Coconut Cake II from this site, also using coconut milk in place of regular milk. Thanks, Carol, for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
This is not a birthday cake by any traditional sense. You may eat it on your birthday, but it's not fluffy at all. It came out more like a pound cake than a birthday cake. Also, the batter overflowed my 9*13 baking dish, so I'd skim off about 3 tablespoons before pouring. Otherwise, it's a good pound cake imitation if you put another teaspoon of vanilla for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
This is very similar to a pound cake recipe. Firm, slices great without crumbling. I made double the recipe and used the other rounds for strawberry short cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by www.changeofsceneweddings.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lockport, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
This was kind of a weird recipe. It wasn't really what I was looking for. It wasn't too sweet, and it was very dense. It is probably a great cake for a strawberry shortcake dessert, but I am not sure about a birthday cake. Of course, I couldn't use this as the birthday cake that I was baking for my best friend, because I dropped half of it on the floor when I turned it out of its pan. I guess it was a good thing that happened, because I was able to go for another yellow cake recipe that was more of what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
I made this for my brother's birthday yesterday and topped it with Chocolate Frosting I, also on this site. It was great! My whole family loved it, one person saying "This is definately better than boxed cake!" I'm not a fantastic baker, I can admit it, but this was easy enough for me. It was worth the extra work of whipping the egg whites because it made the cake nice and moist. And yes, it does smell like an omelet coming out of the oven as others have mentioned, but it does NOT taste like one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
Followed the recipe and it was suprisingly easy. Put lemon frosting on(luscious buttercream frosting recipe using lemon alternative). One suggestion-if you're baking this as a sheet cake turning the pan about half to three quaters of the way thru cooking will help with more even baking. Mine was over done on one end and it took about 50 min. to cook probably would have been less flipping the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
Hands down, this recipe beats a store bought cake mix by a mile! I have never prepared a "from scratch" cake before, but after having "Happy Birthday Cake," I'll probably never buy a store bought cake mix again. Though this recipe was more dense than a store bought mix, I prefer it that way. And the flavor and texture was simply amazing. I used "Wedding Cake Frosting" as another reviewer suggested, and the match was absolutely perfect. My wife loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States