Happy Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I ran late and needed to bake a cake just as the guests were arriving, so had to make shortcuts. I softened the butter in the microwave and mixed the eggs in without separating them and the cake still turned out great! I did have to lower the oven temperature to 300 after 15 mins though, since I saw that the cake was browning too much on top and was still undone inside (convection air oven). It also make a huge cake and would have overflowed had I not used as big a cake pan as I did. I sifted cocoa powder over it (quick and less fattening than frosting and anyway the cake was still warm and would've melted any frosting!) and it looked elegant. The guests loved it! Very buttery smooth and just as delicious the next day after refridgeration. Great recipe since it uses basic ingredients on hand that one could just throw in one go. This is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
I used this recipe to make cupcakes for my daughter's class and they turned out delicious. I had many parents and teachers tell me how good they were. Thanks for a delicious, made from scratch, cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
I will never use another recipe. Try it you'll love it. Bakery quality if not better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
This is the best birthday cake in the world and I have made a lot of cakes. Use real butter if you can! It rises beautifully and is of perfect texture. I used a cream chees icing. One 8 oz. block cream cheese, 1/2 cup marg. 1tsp. vanilla and about 4 cups icing sugar. YUMMY!! Thanks for the recipe. Susan from Nova Scotia, Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
This cake was delicious- a nice, slightly dense, moist cake. It was actually my first layer cake (so I followed all steps carefully), and it baked very well. I made it with Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting (also submitted by Carol)- yum. I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
This cake was delicious! Especially with some strawberry butter cream frosting on top and inbetween layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HELLODJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
Delicious! I use this all the time now for family birthdays, alternating with the Black Magic Cake, also on this site. Be sure to follow directions as far as adding the beaten egg whites separately. I sometimes substitute 1 cup of canned coconut milk for the milk, and use the frosting from Coconut Cake II from this site, also using coconut milk in place of regular milk. Thanks, Carol, for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
This is not a birthday cake by any traditional sense. You may eat it on your birthday, but it's not fluffy at all. It came out more like a pound cake than a birthday cake. Also, the batter overflowed my 9*13 baking dish, so I'd skim off about 3 tablespoons before pouring. Otherwise, it's a good pound cake imitation if you put another teaspoon of vanilla for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
This is very similar to a pound cake recipe. Firm, slices great without crumbling. I made double the recipe and used the other rounds for strawberry short cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by www.changeofsceneweddings.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lockport, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
This was kind of a weird recipe. It wasn't really what I was looking for. It wasn't too sweet, and it was very dense. It is probably a great cake for a strawberry shortcake dessert, but I am not sure about a birthday cake. Of course, I couldn't use this as the birthday cake that I was baking for my best friend, because I dropped half of it on the floor when I turned it out of its pan. I guess it was a good thing that happened, because I was able to go for another yellow cake recipe that was more of what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

How to Make a Space Shuttle Cake

See how to make a birthday cake that looks like the space shuttle!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States