Happy Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I don't know why some others say it is packy. If you follow the recipe to the letter, it comes out great. Be sure you are sifting your flour/baking powder mixture, and fluffing your egg whites. Thanks for the keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
I absolutely love this recipe...used it several times. I even changed the all purpose flour to spelt for my sister as she is allergic to wheat (minus 1 tbsp of spelt/ cup of wheat). I always get rave reviews. You would think I would know it off by heart by now, needed to look it up for My Mom's birthday this weekend. Delicious!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucia
Reviewed: May 18, 2006
This was an awesome recipie. This was the first time i ever baked cake ever and this cake came out perfect. The instructions were easy to follow and the ingredients were simple! My family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I was somewhat disappointed with this recipe after seeing all of the rave reviews. I decorate cakes for a side job and I had a customer who wanted a really good homemade yellow cake for her husband's birthday. I don't get a request for a yellow cake very often so I went looking for a recipe and found this one. I made one for me to try at the same time I made the one to decorate. I did not overbake the cake, followed the directions as is and it came out dry, heavy and very crumbly. The flavor was fair but the texture was awful. I ended up brushing the customer's cake with a vanilla simple syrup and coating it with a glaze before icing it in hopes it would taste better and hold up better. I was hoping for a fluffy, tasty cake but this was not it. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
I made this for my daughters birthday and used a white frosting with some white chocolate chips and strawberries mixed in. It was more the texture of pound cake, I thought that sounded yummy, but it was the texture of pound cake with out the flavor of cake. I think this would make great strawberry shortcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troup, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
great cake. I used it to make my son's birthday train cake, inside a Wilton train pan. When I cut off the extra from the top and tried it, it tasted great! I did alter it a bit though, I used almond extract instead of vanilla, and I used buttermilk instead of milk. great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Viña Del Mar, Valparaíso, Chile
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
This cake was not good. It had a flour taste and even my kids would not eat it.I followed the directions to a T and I was very dissappointed. I am so glad I tried it before serving it as my sons birthday cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
The only thing I changed was not separating the eggs and using 1/2&1/2. I just whipped it a little longer before adding dry and wet ingred.'s. Cake came out most. I placed the cake wrapped in the freezer before frosting. This helps it not to crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Extremely easy to make, and it tastes excellant! I had to cook it a bit longer then required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I ran late and needed to bake a cake just as the guests were arriving, so had to make shortcuts. I softened the butter in the microwave and mixed the eggs in without separating them and the cake still turned out great! I did have to lower the oven temperature to 300 after 15 mins though, since I saw that the cake was browning too much on top and was still undone inside (convection air oven). It also make a huge cake and would have overflowed had I not used as big a cake pan as I did. I sifted cocoa powder over it (quick and less fattening than frosting and anyway the cake was still warm and would've melted any frosting!) and it looked elegant. The guests loved it! Very buttery smooth and just as delicious the next day after refridgeration. Great recipe since it uses basic ingredients on hand that one could just throw in one go. This is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

How to Make a Space Shuttle Cake

See how to make a birthday cake that looks like the space shuttle!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States