Happy Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
I am very Disapointed in this cake. It came out tasting like flour. I would not recomend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
Great tasting cake that holds up well for decorating. I added a touch of almond extract to the batter then, as someone suggested, topped it with wedding cake icing. I spread raspberry preserves between the layers and covered the sides of the cake with almonds. It turned out pretty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
THIS IS THE SECOND TIME I HAVE BAKED THIS CAKE. FIRST TIME IT MUST HAVE WEIGHED 50 LBS. AND IT WAS NOT A SUCCESS.THIS WAS ALSO MY FIRST CAKE FROM SCRATCH I EVER BAKED AND I KINDA PACKED THE FLOUR INTO THE MEASURING CUP :) THIS TIME IT WAS MUCH, MUCH BETTER. IT WAS JUST RIGHT EXCEPT I CANT EVER GET IT TO BAKE RIGHT..I BAKED IT FOR 50 MINS. AT 350. THE MIDDLE STARTED TO CRACK AND THE EDGES WERE VERY BROWN. SO THE CAKE IS KIND OF DRY NOW...BUT IT TASTES SOOOO GOOD. I WILL EAT IT BUT THE REST OF THE FAMILY WILL PRETEND TO BE CHOKING ON IT CAUSE ITS DRY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
This is a REALLY GOOD CAKE!!! I usually don't like homemade cake but this was exceptionally good!! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bekka C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I don't know why some others say it is packy. If you follow the recipe to the letter, it comes out great. Be sure you are sifting your flour/baking powder mixture, and fluffing your egg whites. Thanks for the keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
I absolutely love this recipe...used it several times. I even changed the all purpose flour to spelt for my sister as she is allergic to wheat (minus 1 tbsp of spelt/ cup of wheat). I always get rave reviews. You would think I would know it off by heart by now, needed to look it up for My Mom's birthday this weekend. Delicious!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucia
Reviewed: May 18, 2006
This was an awesome recipie. This was the first time i ever baked cake ever and this cake came out perfect. The instructions were easy to follow and the ingredients were simple! My family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I was somewhat disappointed with this recipe after seeing all of the rave reviews. I decorate cakes for a side job and I had a customer who wanted a really good homemade yellow cake for her husband's birthday. I don't get a request for a yellow cake very often so I went looking for a recipe and found this one. I made one for me to try at the same time I made the one to decorate. I did not overbake the cake, followed the directions as is and it came out dry, heavy and very crumbly. The flavor was fair but the texture was awful. I ended up brushing the customer's cake with a vanilla simple syrup and coating it with a glaze before icing it in hopes it would taste better and hold up better. I was hoping for a fluffy, tasty cake but this was not it. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
I made this for my daughters birthday and used a white frosting with some white chocolate chips and strawberries mixed in. It was more the texture of pound cake, I thought that sounded yummy, but it was the texture of pound cake with out the flavor of cake. I think this would make great strawberry shortcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troup, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
great cake. I used it to make my son's birthday train cake, inside a Wilton train pan. When I cut off the extra from the top and tried it, it tasted great! I did alter it a bit though, I used almond extract instead of vanilla, and I used buttermilk instead of milk. great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Viña Del Mar, Valparaíso, Chile
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

How to Make a Space Shuttle Cake

See how to make a birthday cake that looks like the space shuttle!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States