Happy Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This cake was alright! It dries out very quickly though even though I was keeping it sealed in a cake pan. It was also very crumbly and I followed the directions exactly. How can I keep it moist the next time I make it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elba, Alabama, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This cake was great. Imade it for my brothers birthday with my chocolate crean cheese frosting and every body loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annalithaldatalath

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
This was a fairly good recipe. As another reviewer noted it is very dense but still tastey. I also used a homemade icing and that really spruced it up. Not a bad recipe overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This cake tastes very good. However, as other reviewers have said, it is very dense. It resembles a pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
I am very Disapointed in this cake. It came out tasting like flour. I would not recomend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
Great tasting cake that holds up well for decorating. I added a touch of almond extract to the batter then, as someone suggested, topped it with wedding cake icing. I spread raspberry preserves between the layers and covered the sides of the cake with almonds. It turned out pretty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
THIS IS THE SECOND TIME I HAVE BAKED THIS CAKE. FIRST TIME IT MUST HAVE WEIGHED 50 LBS. AND IT WAS NOT A SUCCESS.THIS WAS ALSO MY FIRST CAKE FROM SCRATCH I EVER BAKED AND I KINDA PACKED THE FLOUR INTO THE MEASURING CUP :) THIS TIME IT WAS MUCH, MUCH BETTER. IT WAS JUST RIGHT EXCEPT I CANT EVER GET IT TO BAKE RIGHT..I BAKED IT FOR 50 MINS. AT 350. THE MIDDLE STARTED TO CRACK AND THE EDGES WERE VERY BROWN. SO THE CAKE IS KIND OF DRY NOW...BUT IT TASTES SOOOO GOOD. I WILL EAT IT BUT THE REST OF THE FAMILY WILL PRETEND TO BE CHOKING ON IT CAUSE ITS DRY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
This is a REALLY GOOD CAKE!!! I usually don't like homemade cake but this was exceptionally good!! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bekka C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I don't know why some others say it is packy. If you follow the recipe to the letter, it comes out great. Be sure you are sifting your flour/baking powder mixture, and fluffing your egg whites. Thanks for the keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
I absolutely love this recipe...used it several times. I even changed the all purpose flour to spelt for my sister as she is allergic to wheat (minus 1 tbsp of spelt/ cup of wheat). I always get rave reviews. You would think I would know it off by heart by now, needed to look it up for My Mom's birthday this weekend. Delicious!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States