Hand Held Hashbrown Casseroles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
My family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
These were so yummy! I did change the recipe a little bit. I used about 10oz Shredded Hashbrowns, 3 eggs, 1/2 orange bell pepper, 1/2 onion, a splash of milk,browned sausage and crumbled bacon. 350 for 30 and it was awesome! I kept all af the left over ingredients seperate and placed them in ziplock freezer bags so that next time I want these everything will be ready and I can just mix it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fort Riley, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This is a crowd pleasing dish. I made a few modifications to make it quicker, easier, and healthier. Jimmy Dean sausage has a 12 oz. package, crumbled & fully cooked - and I used the turkey sausage - delicious & 60% less fat! No muss, no fuss. Instead of ham, I used pre-cooked bacon - about 6 pieces. Again, no muss, no fuss & it added good flavor.(But not absolutely necessary.) I used Ore Ida frozen hash browns but I measured them out the night before, covered them & let them 'defrost' in the refrigerator. That seemed to work quite well. i accidentally forgot the pepper but no one added seasoning or seemed to miss it. Otherwise, I did follow the recipe accordingly. Although, I would recommend greasing the cups liberally - not lightly - very difficult to hold if they fall apart coming out of the muffin tin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Very good. Added more eggs like one reviewer suggested. Added just a little bit of cheese but next time will add more. Leftovers make a quick breakfast for the rest of the week (portion controlled too!). Update: I've been making these every Sunday - gives my husband and I a great breakfast all through the week. Just use whatever veggies/cheeses/meats you have on hand. Great way to use leftovers! Add salsa or fresh chopped spinach or roasted red peppers. The options are endless! We never have them the same way twice. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I am embarassed to say that I cannot stop eating these! The.y are just what I was looking for. Something easy for the kids to grab before school. I used to dislike it when people would rate a recipe when they made changes to it, but now I realize that it is just a way to let others know what they did and that it worked out ok. Had a 24oz package of hashbrowns, used it all and added an extra egg. I didn't have ham, so I used fully cooked bacon and just cut it up. Also used muffin liners and that worked out well. Made a 8x8 pan also and then cut into squares and wrapped. I found that easier and just as good. I also added onion instead of the green peppers because that's what I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
These were awesome! Made a few changes just based on personal taste...I left out the sausage completely, used fresh grated potatoes instead frozen hash browns, and used a mix of green pepper, mushrooms, onion and black olive instead of just the green pepper. Mine were done a few minutes early, and they were amazing! My boyfriend said he wanted to eat them everyday for breakfast :) Update...We have become obsessed with these and eat them at least once a week! We use whatever veggies we have on hand, sometimes use ham, sometimes no meat at all. They are fabulous every way! We like them cooked until they are a bit crispy. I even experimented with freezing them for busy mornings. I just wrapped them individually in foil and pop them into the toaster oven when I want to use them....you would think they were baked that morning, they froze beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Alstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Everyone loved these, and they were so easy to make. Added onions instead of bell peppers and used tatertots in place of hash browns since I was out, and still turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
We loved this! I did double the eggs and cheese...8 eggs and 2 cups of cheese. Omitted the butter and ham. Used frozen diced peppers and added to the sausage along with a Tbs of dried minced onion. The bob evans sausage cooked up really lean so I didn't need to drain it...they were just moist enough with out the added butter. Made 1/2 in muffin cups and 1/2 in mini muffin cups - filled the cups to the top. Our guests asked for the recipe! This will be my go to breakfast for when we have house guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I made these for a quick breakfast for my 16 year old, between the two us we ate half the batch before I could get them into the freezer and frig. I did add two dollops of sour cream, garlic salt and some dried minced onions, didn't have bellpepper. I used both the mini muffin pans and regular size muffins. The minis were a big hit! Nice versatile recipe, I'm definitely putting more egg in it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Delicious recipe! After reading previous reviews, I made the following modifications: 8 eggs, 1 cup whole milk, 2 cups cheddar cheese, and substituted crumbed bacon for the ham and onions for the peppers. It was wonderful, enjoyed by both my husband and young children. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Hashbrown Casserole

This hearty casserole is cheesy and filling, perfect for brunch.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States