Hand Held Hashbrown Casseroles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This is a great freezer meal! I make these for the kids, nuke em before they get on the bus. They love them. I do 9 eggs per meal as someone else suggested and DO NOT try without non-stick muffin pans. I threw my old ones away after making these and then bought new non-stick pans just to give this another try. Beautiful. This is a nice one because you can put in just what your family enjoys. I leave out the peppers, though they would probably eat them. And only use ham just to make it cheaper and less hassle. Great to store away in the freezer for fast mornings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This was great -- super easy. I changed it a little -- used turkey instead of pork sausage and ham. I used 6 eggs instead of 4 -- it was very dry with 4 eggs. It was a big hit -- I had none left after brunch. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Delicious recipe! After reading previous reviews, I made the following modifications: 8 eggs, 1 cup whole milk, 2 cups cheddar cheese, and substituted crumbed bacon for the ham and onions for the peppers. It was wonderful, enjoyed by both my husband and young children. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Was really disapointed in the outcome of this recipe.Followed it as was written but omitted ham. Baked them in muffin pan per directions but they stuck to the pan like crazy and fell apart when trying to remove them. The flavor wasn't any thing to get excited about either. Glad I did a trial run of these before my women's fellowship breakfast. Will bake it all in a casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I am embarassed to say that I cannot stop eating these! The.y are just what I was looking for. Something easy for the kids to grab before school. I used to dislike it when people would rate a recipe when they made changes to it, but now I realize that it is just a way to let others know what they did and that it worked out ok. Had a 24oz package of hashbrowns, used it all and added an extra egg. I didn't have ham, so I used fully cooked bacon and just cut it up. Also used muffin liners and that worked out well. Made a 8x8 pan also and then cut into squares and wrapped. I found that easier and just as good. I also added onion instead of the green peppers because that's what I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I made these for a quick breakfast for my 16 year old, between the two us we ate half the batch before I could get them into the freezer and frig. I did add two dollops of sour cream, garlic salt and some dried minced onions, didn't have bellpepper. I used both the mini muffin pans and regular size muffins. The minis were a big hit! Nice versatile recipe, I'm definitely putting more egg in it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Super easy. Very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoBears!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
We loved this! I did double the eggs and cheese...8 eggs and 2 cups of cheese. Omitted the butter and ham. Used frozen diced peppers and added to the sausage along with a Tbs of dried minced onion. The bob evans sausage cooked up really lean so I didn't need to drain it...they were just moist enough with out the added butter. Made 1/2 in muffin cups and 1/2 in mini muffin cups - filled the cups to the top. Our guests asked for the recipe! This will be my go to breakfast for when we have house guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Very good. Added more eggs like one reviewer suggested. Added just a little bit of cheese but next time will add more. Leftovers make a quick breakfast for the rest of the week (portion controlled too!). Update: I've been making these every Sunday - gives my husband and I a great breakfast all through the week. Just use whatever veggies/cheeses/meats you have on hand. Great way to use leftovers! Add salsa or fresh chopped spinach or roasted red peppers. The options are endless! We never have them the same way twice. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
USE MORE EGGS!! Added a couple of tomatoes, 1/2 an onion, garlic powder, and used 8 eggs - and it still wasn't enough eggs. Used a 1/4 cup measuring cup to dole them out into the greased cupcake tins, and the ones w/ more of the egg held together MUCH better. They taste great, but the whole point is to have a "hand held" breakfast - so use more eggs, let them cool a bit in the tins, and then use a butter knife to loosen around the edges to pop them out. Also, had a little extra mix, so I used a silicone mini-cupcake pan -- and those popped right out! UPDATE: Made again, used a dozen eggs & was liberal w/ the pam on the cupcake tins...let them cool, loosened w/ a knife around the edges...had very few that didn't come right out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara N.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Hashbrown Casserole

This hearty casserole is cheesy and filling, perfect for brunch.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States